June 2015 – Picnic Degustabox Product Review

June 2015 Picnic Degustabox
June 2015 – Picnic Degustabox Product Review
User Rating: 5 (1 votes)

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands:

  • Rekorderlig Strawberry & Lime
  • Coconom Organic Coconut Sugar
  • Zeo Carbonated Soft Drinks
  • Kallo Corn & Rice Snacks
  • Icycl Vodka Icepop
  • Brioche Pasquier Pitch Chocolate Chip
  • Brioche Pasquier Pitch Chocolate
  • Melba Thins Multigrain
  • Vybe Coconut Water

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £3.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code LFM08 at the checkout.


Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (4 years old)

Aidan (3 years old)

What’s in June’s Degustabox?

June Degustabox - Selection of Products - motherhooddiaries.com

Products

Rekorderlig

Rekorderlig’s first cider was created in 1999 with the purest spring water from Vimmerby, Sweden, where it is still brewed today by Åbro Bryggeri. Rekorderlig is now in its fourth generation as a family-brewed cider from Sweden and continues to launch in new countries, while strongly maintaining its proud Swedish heritage.

Rekorderlig - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Made from the purest Swedish spring water, Rekorderlig Strawberry – Lime Cider perfectly embodies a Swedish summer with the fragrance of freshly picked strawberries and a hint of lime peel. Its initial sweetness ends in a more citrusy finish with a hint of lime. It’s unique and fresh flavour has ensured Strawberry-Lime is now our most popular Rekorderlig flavour in the world. It is the ideal summer refreshment and is perfect served cold over ice with a squeeze of lime and a sprig of fresh mint. ALC 4% VOL.”

Our Opinion – Not being a cider fan at all, I allowed hubby to give this drink a try and he found the Rekorderlig quite sweet and very tasty. He said it had a refreshingly fruity taste that’s perfect for summer time. The strawberries really come through.

Coconom

Coconom is an organic coconut brand whose mission is to help make the planet a healthier, happier place, one coconut tree at a time! Coconom have taken their love for coconut and sourced the highest quality, organic coconut products that nature has to offer, starting with the Organic Coconut sugar to sweeten life the healthier way.

Coconom - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Coconom Organic Coconut Sugar is a delicious and completely natural alternative (1:1 replacement) to sugar made from 100% Coconut tree blossom sap. Pure, Unrefined and great in baking, on porridge, smoothies and hot drinks, Coconom has nothing artificial added, is Vegan-approved, Soil Association certified and Ethically Sourced.”

Our Opinion – Coconut Sugar is a brilliant idea for enjoying your normally sweetened meal or beverage, without the need for adding processed sugar. My boys love Coconut Sugar in their morning cereal, but I found it difficult to replicate the sweetness that I like in my coffee, unless I added 2 teaspoons of the coconut sugar instead of my regular 1 spoon of white sugar. Otherwise, I love the idea and the taste is awesome.

ZEO

After years of innovation and trialling bold flavour formulations, ZEO finally achieved their goal; complex and uniquely flavoured range of soft drinks that are 100% naturally sourced and low in calories. ZEO developed a secret blend from 32 different fruits and botanicals to create their very different formula.

Zeo - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“At Zeo, we make lightly carbonated soft drinks blending 98% spring water blended with naturally extracted fruits and botanicals. For sweetness we add a tiny amount of Stevia with a touch of sugar. Our four crisply refreshing flavours are crafted in small batches and are under 30 calories per bottle.”

Our Opinion – I love ZEO because I’m not a huge fan of very sweet and highly processed sodas, but I found these to be very natural tasting and not too strong. My favourite is the Lime, which had a very zesty and punchy flavour. The Peach & Grapefruit, however, tasted strange and not like grapefruit at all.

Very refreshing and not sweet at all – quite a subtle punch for a thirst quenching drink.

KALLO

Kallo reinvented the rice cake and created a range of organic stock cubes and other foodie things that are made, using the finest natural ingredients.

Kallo - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Whether it’s lunch, brunch or breakfast, the Kallo range of wholegrain rice and corn cakes work deliciously with all sorts of savoury and sweet toppings, they are even perfect on the go – which means you can have your cake and eat it!”

Our opinion – I didn’t get the chance to try these snacks as my boys gobbled them all up. They seemed to really enjoy these and I reckon I would have too, as I love salt and vinegar flavoured snacks anyway.

LOVE CHIN CHIN

Chin chin was derived from West African family celebrations and now comes in different varieties – chilli, lemon, cinnamon and sweet vanilla flavour.

Love Chin Chin - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“‘Chin Chin’ is a famous sweet snack popular in West Africa. Love Chin Chin – developed from a family recipe and manufactured in the UK – is the West African sweet snack sensation that ‘crunches like a biscuit, tastes like a cake!’ Made from 100% natural ingredients it’s the tastiest snack you may never have tried. A crunchy, tasty bite that’s a real treat at any time of the day and perfect for sharing. Available in Vanilla, Cinnamon, Lemon or Chilli flavours to tempt and suitable for Vegetarians and dairy free. www.lovechinchin.com”

Our Opinion
– These are just ok. The cinnamon does come through faintly, which is good because I don’t like cinnamon all that much. But, the texture is hard to explain – it’s not too soft and not too hard. To be honest, it did taste more like stale biscuits, but my boys loved them and that’s enough for me. Probably wouldn’t buy them again though.

ICYCL

31DOVER.com is the UK’s leading online drinks vendor and stock drinks that can be delivered to your door step the very next day. The concept came from their offices at 31 Dover Street in London and was created by the founders of Vanquish Wine – Central London’s leading drinks distributor to the trade, supplying the capital’s top restaurants, bars, hotels and nightclubs with all their wine Champagne and spirits.

Icycl - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Unique and delicious frozen vodka icepops. From zingy lemon & lime to crisp orchard apples, Icycl frozen vodka icepops are available in a selection of delicious and refreshing natural fruit flavours. With a 6.4% kick of vodka contained in a handy suck-as-you-go pouch, you can take your party anywhere. Available from www.31dover.com.”

Our Opinion – As a born and raised Londoner, I naturally back this London company. However, I’m not too sure about supporting ‘suck-as-you-go’ alcoholic drinks, especially in the shape of icepops. My 3-year-old son thought it was a regular ice pop and tried to open it, which got me thinking – this concept of the Icycl may be great for outdoor parties, maybe, but as a normal person storing an alcoholic icepop at home? Just didn’t sit right with me. I haven’t tried the Icycl yet, but I may give it to a friend of mine who is mad about vodka.

Brioche Pasquier

When Gabriel Pasquier first opened in his small village bakery in 1936, he used levain in his dough. The same technique was passed onto his sons that decided to continue using traditional levain to bake Brioche Pasquier products. Raising the dough this way is a more time consuming process compared to using modern yeast, but it provides a unique sourdough flavour and the products are then carefully baked using a similar process to the one used in 1936.

Despite the years that have passed, Brioche Pasquier continue this tradition of using their unique raising agent. Levain is the most natural way to raise dough and does not require any added sugar. It brings acidity to the dough that enables conservation without using preservatives.

Pasquier - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Now available in Tesco Express stores, a delicious choc chip brioche roll that is individually wrapped for you to enjoy anytime of the day, perfect for lunch boxes and summer picnics.” Pitch Chocolate Chip

“This brioche has a delicious chocolate flavour filling with a hint of hazelnut that makes a tasty sweet treat. PITCH is free from artificial colours, preservatives and hydrogenated fats. Take advantage of our new promotion and try a new sport for free! See the in-pack card for more details.” Pitch Chocolate

Our Opinion
– As mentioned before in previous Degustaboxes, Pasquier’s brioches, especially the choc chip kind, are firm favourites in our house and I regularly buy them as snacks for after nursery or playgroup. We also love having chocolate brioches for breakfast (especially me!), so when we received not one, but two packets of different types of chocolate brioches, we were unanimously excited at tucking into these gorgeous creations. And, Pasquier doesn’t disappoint in our household – ever!

MELBA

Van der Meulen is internationally renowned as manufacturer of quality bakery products. With a wide range of Melba Toast, Rusks and Rye Bread, Van der Meulen is the only European manufacturer of Organic Crispbakes and Organic Melba Toast.

Melba Thins - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“New: Melba Thins Multigrain are now also available at Tesco. Garnish with a dash of paté, cheese or salmon, topped with cucumber, avocado or tomato. Or whatever else you fancy. The perfect accompaniment to drinks with friends, a cool refreshing beer or a nice glass of wine.”

Our Opinion – Really loved these! Normal crackerbreads tend to taste quite bland, but Melba isn’t. We tried them with pretty much everything – cheese, hummus, tomatoes, jam, peanut butter etc. and they all tasted great with the Melba thins. They’re healthy too as they are low in calories – win-win!

VYBE

Vybe coconut water came about on a trip to New York when Amanda Breheny when herself with a case of food poisoning. Not able to keep any fluids in her body, she was concerned about ending up dehydrated. A friend of hers gave her coconut water to drink and the electrolytes helped hydrate her body. This led to Amanda researching about the coconut and realising that the UK was ready and open for a new healthy drink that would benefit adults and children.

Vybe - June 2015 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

Vybe’s 100% natural coconut water comes from Thailand’s, sweet delicious coconuts. It is full of valuable nutritional minerals and electrolytes. The electrolytes in the coconut water help to hydrate and maintain the body’s pH levels. Vybe’s coconut water is fat free and cholesterol free, and an ideal addition to a daily diet for those who wish to live a healthy life. 
For more info and special offers visit us at www.vybejuice.com and sign up to our newsletter. Get on our Vybe and live the healthy way!”

Our opinion – I do not like coconut water generally and I really didn’t like this drink either. In fact, neither did my entire family, so, unfortunately, this drink went down the sink. L

What did I like most about June’s Picnic Degustabox?

Pasquier’s Pitch Chocolate and Pitch Chocolate Chip Brioches, hands down!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars - motherhooddiaries.com product reviews

3 out of 5 – There were a few products in there that I didn’t like. But, Pasquier, the Melba Thins and the Coconut Sugar rocked!

Product Review Disclaimer Badge - motherhooddiaries.com

Subscribe here to stay on top of new content added to Motherhood Diaries.

If you’d like to share your wealth of experience and knowledge with our community then you can apply to become a Motherhood Diaries’ Contributor here. Read our Ad Policy here.

Leyla Preston (597 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/