fbpx

July 2016 – Degustabox Review

July Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

 Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

  • ALO Aloe Vera Drink
  • Cracker Drinks Co. Ltd Pineapple, Coconut & Lime
  • Bahlsen UK Choco Leibniz Milk Chocolate Snack Packs
  • Itsu Crispy Seaweed Thins Sea Salt
  • Jordans Cereals Swiss Muesli
  • Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles
  • Felix Sweet Pickled Gherkin
  • Seabrook Crisps Chicken Jalfrezi Flavour, Chorizo Flavour
  • Berrywhite Lemon & Ginger and Cranberry & Guava
  • Qcumber Sparkling Cucumber Drink
  • Rejuvenation Water
  • Euro Food Brands Dark Chocolate Acai with Blueberry & Dark Chocolate Soft Centers Pomegranate
  • Sarsons Balsamic Vinegar

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/


But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15
at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers have the opportunity to receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries as a way to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (5 years old)

Aidan (4 years old)

Review:

What’s in July’s BBQ Degustabox?

July Degustbox 2016 - motherhooddiaries

Products

ALO Aloe Vera Drink

ALO Aloe Vera Drink - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Our drinks start with real aloe Vera that we hand pick on our organic farm. You get all of the benefits of real aloe Vera because our juice and pulp never come from powder, only our pure, powerful plant.

•Pure Ingredients with No Excuses

Our taste is all about transparency. We are Non-GMO Project Verified, gluten-free and fat-free, and only use real aloe Vera juice and pulp harvested straight from the leaf. We don’t hide anything in our drinks, and you’ll see and taste the difference.

•Flavors That Fit You

With 20 blends across four distinct lines, there is an ALO drink for everyone. From sports fans to fashionistas, we’re the favorite accessory to every lifestyle and personality. Sip to suit your mood!

•Benefits for Your Body

We raise the bar for refreshment by giving back to your body with natural vitamins, minerals, and amino acids. Aloe Vera does as much good on the inside as it does on your skin, promoting healthy digestion, reducing inflammation and supporting your joints and muscles. You don’t have to wait for a sunburn to feel the soothing effects of ALO. https://www.instagram.com/alodrink/

Our Opinion – I have never ingested Aloe Vera, it’s always been slathered on cuts, bruises, sunburn and the like. However, this drink felt really refreshing and natural. The pulp inside was a bit of a surprise, but I did feel like it soothed a rather upset tummy I was having that day. – 5/5

Cracker Drinks Co. Ltd Pineapple, Coconut & Lime

Cracker Drinks Co Ltd - Pineapple, Coconut & Lime - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Cracker Drinks Co. creates natural fruit juice drinks with no added sugar or artificial sweeteners. The drinks are also naturally lower in calories, averaging around 30% less calories per 100ml than 100% juice or added sugar juice drinks. However, they remain high in fruit content offering 1 of your 5 a day. And there is no compromise on taste either. Each variant is carefully blended to ensure the distinctive flavour of each fruit shines through. The result is a range of unique, delicious and refreshing fruit juice drinks that are better for you.
Cracker Drinks’ Pineapple Coconut and Lime is the perfect example. It represents 1 of your 5 a day but is only 57 cals per serving.
Tasting notes: Big pineapple flavours, cut with zesty lime and balanced to perfection with the wonderful taste of coconut. This is a refreshingly sunny drink with a smooth, light finish.”

Our Opinion – As much as I am not a fan of juice in general (I think they’re loaded with sugar), I am a huge fan of pineapple and lime, especially together. So, I did really enjoy the taste. The kids loved it too and, as it contains natural fruit juice, is only 57 calories per serving and it makes up 1 of your 5 a day, I wouldn’t be so worried about serving my kids sugar on a plate. I’d still opt for water though… – 4.5 / 5

Bahlsen UK Choco Leibniz Milk Chocolate Snack Packs

Bahlsen UK Choco Leibniz - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Bahlsen’s delicious milk chocolate Choco Leibniz are now available in handy portion packs of two biscuits to go. Our original crisp butter biscuit set into smooth continental milk chocolate. Perfect for picnics, packed lunches or even to pop into your handbag for a tasty snack under 150 calories. It’s not just a biscuit, it’s a Bahlsen.”


Our Opinion – Oh Bahlsen and your dangerously moreish chocolate biscuits. Plus, they’re snack-sized now, which means it’s a crime not to put one in your handbag! I love Bahlsen’s chocolate, they are so deliciously rich and creamy and the biscuit just adds a superior crunch to the velvety smooth taste. I am addicted and these 4 snack-sized bars went very quickly! At least the boys got to try some… I’m not that greedy… 5 / 5

Itsu Crispy Seaweed Thins – Sea Salt

Itsu Crispy Seaweed Thins - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Edible seaweed is an Asian delicacy, heralded as the new vegetable crisp. The green superfood, seaweed is naturally packed with nutrients, zinc, iron & B vitamins. Seaweed’s superpower is its great source of iodine, a nutrient missing in most other foods, critically important in regulating hormones.

itsu’s best-selling crispy seaweed thins are harvested from the crystal clear seas around South Korea. Heralded as the new, butterfly light vegetable crisp, with only 24 calories per pack, they are the perfect eat beautiful seaweed snack.

You can also add itsu crispy seaweed thins to a variety of dishes or sprinkle it on a salad to add extra texture and flavour.

itsu crispy seaweed thins are also available in wasabi and sweet soy & sea salt flavour.

For more information about the health benefits of seaweed please visit http://itsugrocery.com/pages/seaweed

Our Opinion – itsu the restaurant I love, love, love. But, I just couldn’t bring myself to try these. I don’t know how take seaweed, I feel like they belong in the sea, not in your mouth. Unfortunately, by the time I decided to get creative and make some sushi rolls, they had run out of date. What a waste… 1.5 / 5

Jordans Cereals – Jordans Swiss Muesli

Jordan's Swiss Style Muesli - July Degustabox 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Deliciously light in texture our Swiss Style muesli is a blend of crispy wheat flakes, creamy oats, juicy raisins and finely sliced almonds. A simple Classic and naturally with no added sugar: splendid.

 https://www.jordanscereals.co.uk/”

Our Opinion – Jordans cereals are so versatile. The kids enjoy cereal in the morning and we even made really awesome cocoa and blueberry flapjacks with them! They were gone before I could snap some pictures though… 4.5/5

Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles

Rowntree's July Degustabox 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Infusions are an exciting twist on Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles, featuring 3 delicious fusions of flavours including orange & grapefruit, raspberry & pomegranate and apple & elderflower. Made with fruit juice, and with no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives. Infusions are available to buy in all major stores


Our Opinion – I’m trying really hard to stay away from sugar, but Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles suck me in every time. But, these particular packet of fruit fusion just upped the stakes in the flavour department. I can also taste better quality too. So, this packet went quickly… cue sugar high! 4/5

FELIX Sweet Pickled Gherkin

FELIX Sweet Pickled Gherkin - July Degustabox 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Our sweet pickled crunchy gherkins are handpicked in by our own growers in late summer, when the gherkins are at their best. They are prepared using a traditional recipe with vinegar, sugar and spices. Their sweet taste and crunchiness makes them perfect to serve with your burger in your sandwich or as a condiment. Our Felix Sweet Pickled gherkins are a brilliant all-rounder and a must-have in every household.

The product is ready to serve, suitable for vegetarians and is Kosher Parve.

Produced in Sweden by market leaders Orkla Foods and brought to the UK by leading Scandinavian food distributor ScandiKitchen Ltd.

http://www.scandikitchen.co.uk/

Our Opinion – I love gherkins in cheeseburgers, I believe they add such a nice touch. However, sadly, I’m alone in my love for pickled cucumbers, so I had to give them away to my mum, who adores them just as much as me. Felix’s sweet pickled gherkins are sweet, and I don’t believe they need to be. I like that they are sliced and ready to use, but the inclusion of sugar is not needed. 3/5

Seabrook Crisps – Chorizo Flavour

Seabrook Lattice Food Heroes Chorizo Flavour - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Seabrook Lattice Food Heroes celebrate all that is good about British Food and Drink. This range champions award winning producers that focus on high quality and great flavour, just like us at Seabrook.

Three little pigs make an award-winning chorizo with a rich Yorkshire twist. Their story began when Charlotte and Jon were given a rare breed sow as a wedding gift. Today, Three Little Pigs remain a proud artisan operation, fully committed to their happy, free range pigs and making food the slow way in the stunning Yorkshire countryside

Akbar’s – King of Curry – Established 20 years ago, can be found in most major UK cities and their restaurants consistently win accolades for great tasting Indian cuisine. Akbar’s are currently 2015 UK Curry champions as a result for their passion for authentic South Indian flavours and attention to quality ingredients. To find out more visit www.akbars.co.uk”

Our Opinion – These chorizo flavoured crisps had a very weird taste to them and I didn’t flavour them very much. I did find them to also be a bit strong on flavour, which, for some people is great. But, for a very delicate palate like mine who can’t take too much salt or spice, this just wasn’t for me unfortunately. Good quality crisp though. 3/5

Berrywhite Lemon & Ginger and Cranberry & Guava

Berrywhite Sparkling Cranberry & Guava - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“At Berrywhite® we like to enjoy what we eat and drink. Treats don’t have to be naughty to be nice! All our drinks are certified organic and blended from natural non GM fruits. The exotic extracts, are also organic (naturally) with subtle flavour notes added to make drink combinations that appeal to every palate. http://www.berrywhite.com”

Our Opinion – These carbonated drinks were super tasty and very refreshing. I really enjoyed them after a heavy meal or my workout, as they replenished some of the energy that I had lost through exercise. I love the flavours, I especially enjoyed the Lemon & Ginger, which just tastes so refreshingly light. I would buy these again, no hesitation. 5/5

Qcumber Sparkling Cucumber Drink

Qcumber Natural Refreshing Cucumber Drink - July 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Qcumber was born out of those rare ‘eureka’ moments. One summer’s evening Graham Carr-Smith was enjoying a gin with slices of crisp cucumber and the thought came to him ‘this could be the next drink flavour.’ After a lot of hard work, Qcumber was born.” http://www.q-cumber.co.uk

Our Opinion – I thought the Berrywhite drinks were good, this Qcumber drink is even better! Not too sweet, not too rich or sickly, but just a super fresh carbonated cucumber drink that really feels like it’s carbonated spring water with a splash of cucumber in it. Brilliant. 5/5

Rejuvenation Water

Rejuvenation Water Spanish Orange - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Amino acid enhanced spring water, Rejuvenation Water is specifically designed to deal with the rigours of modern life. Using Derbyshire spring water, natural fruit flavours and a unique amino acid profile, Rejuvenation Water fuels the immune system, builds a natural resilience to stress, depression and anxiety and aids protein digestion.”

Our opinion – I think it’s great that there’s a nice flavoured water out there that aids protein digestion and fuels the immune system. The Spanish Orange flavour is strong and citrusy, so I would have a drink like this after a good workout. I don’t know whether Rejuvenation Water cures depression or anxiety, but it tastes nice and that’s good enough for me. 3.5/5

Euro Food Brands Dark Chocolate Acai with Blueberry & Dark Chocolate Soft Centers Pomegranate

Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai & Blueberry Flavours - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Exotic fruit and berry flavours blend with smooth dark chocolate. Light and refreshing. Rich and rewarding. Wholesome and authentic. It’s an extraordinary taste experience you can have anytime.”

Our Opinion – My absolute favourite from the box. These little dark chocolate delights taste literally like dark chocolate and blueberries infused together and they are just delicious! In fact, it’s inspired me to create my own blueberry and dark chocolate recipe. Watch this space! 5/5

Sarsons Balsamic Vinegar

Sarson's Balsamic Vinegar - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Sarson’s, the expert in vinegar for over 200 years, now bring you a versatile full bodied balsamic from Modena, perfect as an accompaniment to salads or a recipe ingredient.

Our balsamic provides a distinctive gentle aroma with a tangy taste. Goes perfectly on a salad or in a homemade pesto.”

Our opinion I’ve tried this Sarson’s balsamic vinegar in salads, sauces and meals and the flavour really enhances the recipe without overpowering the other ingredients. It is now my go-to vinegar for all dishes and I will continue to buy it from now on. 5/5

Bonus in this month’s Degustabox – The Degustaquiz!

I was MORE than happy to receive a special Degustabox crossword to complete whilst I was enjoying my edible goodies and the clues were not easy! I have to admit I did get some help from Google with some of them, but I managed to complete most on my own.

Degustaquiz - July 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

Over all Rating:


4.5 out of 5 – Overall a great box this month and my clear favourite was the Dark Chocolate & Acai with Blueberry Soft Centers, which I’m so glad to have acquainted myself with. This is the great thing about Degustabox. It pairs you with some great products that you would not generally look for in the supermarket. And, this is why I continue to write and review Degustabox because I think they’re brilliant and so affordable! Who wouldn’t want delicious food and drink delivered to your door every month!?


Subscribe here to be updated with new posts. Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want and need!

If you’d like to share your wealth of experience and knowledge with our community, then you can apply to become a Motherhood Diaries’ Contributor here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy.

Check out our recipes on Motherhood Diaries and our Facebook page for more ideas!

Leyla Preston (602 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


shares