January 2019 Degustabox Review

January 2019 Degustabox Review

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month

  • Yes! Fruit and Nut Bar
  • LioBites Freeze Dried Strawberry Crisps & Apple Crisps
  • Willy’s Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Pipers Crispeas Matar Paneer
  • Miso Tasty Original Ramen Noodle Kit
  • Ryvita Protein Red Quinoa & Sesame
  • PBfit Peanut Butter Powder
  • Pick Up! Milk Chocolate
  • Hartley’s 10 Cal Jelly Pots
  • Kallo Corn Cakes & Lightly Salted Organic Rice Cakes

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that provides a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.99 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

If you're pregnant, sign up below to receive personalised weekly emails straight to your inbox!

* indicates required
/ / ( dd / mm / yyyy )

Please check the 'Email' box below if you are happy to receive weekly pregnancy emails from Motherhood Diaries

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (8 years old)

Aidan (6 years old)

What’s in January 2019’s Degustabox?

January 2019 Degustabox Review - all the items
January 2019 Degustabox Review

Motherhood Diaries unboxing this month’s Degustabox below:

Products

YES! Fruit and Nut Bar – £1.20

YES! Fruit and Nut Bar - £1.20 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“YES! Snack bars are delicious, wholesome and perfect for snacking on the go. Our fruit bars contain no added sugar (besides naturally occurring sugars), and are 1 of your 5 a day! Our nut bars contain 5g of sugar and are a source of protein!”

Our Opinion – These snack bars are absolutely delicious and taste so nutty and gorgeous. They’re not too sweet, and have a very natural filling. My favourite is the Delightful Coffee, Dark Choc and Cherry Nut Bar because it reminded me a little of a healthy blackforest gateau which is my favourite cake ever! 5/5

LioBites Freeze Dried Apple Crisps – £1.50

LioBites Freeze Dried Apple Crisps - £1.50 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“LioBites are healthy fruit crisps for the whole family to enjoy. We pick fresh fruit in season and freeze-dry it to create delicious LioBites – full of flavour, vitamins and antioxidants. LioBites range includes Apple, Strawberry and Banana crisps. 1 pack of LioBites crisps counts as 1 of 5 a day.”

Our Opinion – These apple crisps are great for snack time for the kids and taste like crispy, tangy apples. The kids loved them! 4/5

Willy’s Apple Cider Vinegar – £2.95

Willy's Apple Cider Vinegar - £2.95 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“Willy’s ACV starts life amongst the 200 acres of pristine orchards in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside. From apple to bottle Willy’s ACV provides you with your daily dose of probiotic goodness. Our raw and unpasteurised ACV contains the mother and is sustainable and recyclable.”

Our Opinion – Apple cider vinegar is a fantastic little invention. ACV can maintain your pH levels and aid digestion, and if you can drink ACV, it can help to lower blood sugar levels too. But, not just that, you can use it to soothe a sore throat, add it to salads as a vinaigrette, preserve food, use as a deodoriser, make an all-purpose cleaner, use as a facial toner, boil better eggs, wash fruit and veg, use as a marinade, use as dandruff treatment for hair, use in homemade cakes and sweet treats, and many, many more! So, Willy’s ACV is actually not big enough to utilise in the way that I want to use it! It’s one of the most useful staples in your cupboard and well worth buying it! 5/5

Pipers Crispeas Matar Paneer – £1

Pipers Crispeas Matar Paneer - £1 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“For a tasty, low calorie, vegetarian snack look no further than Pipers Crispeas. Crispeas are a fresh take on the British pea, offering protein, fibre and only 91kcal per pack. As you’d expect from Pipers, Matar Paneer Crispeas offer bold Indian flavours in a gluten-free, wheat-free and barley-free snack.”

Our Opinion –These are quite a punchy crispy pea flavour snacks which have a curry taste and are full of Indian spice. The boys really enjoyed it, and I was surprised that they did because they’re not into crisps with too much flavour. So I’m happy they enjoyed a healthier form of crunchy snack, and I’d be happy to try this again. 4/5

Miso Tasty Original Ramen Noodle Kit – £3.50

Miso Tasty Original Ramen Noodle Kit - £3.50 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“Miso Tasty’s take on the classic Japanese dish hailed as one of Japan’s top inventions – the Ramen Noodle! With non-friend noodles, it is a comforting meal with a light base from our signature miso. Includes sesame oils and toasted sesame seeds for extra flavour. Simply add your own toppings!”

Our Opinion – This original ramen noodle meal kit is a great piece of kit, and the flavours were rich and full of flavour. The pack says to boil noodles in a pot, but I microwaved them, and they came out just as well. Add some broccoli, green beans and chuck in some peanuts, and you’ve got yourself a lovely pot of ramen noodles! 4/5

Ryvita Protein Red Quinoa & Sesame – £1.59

“We hope you enjoy NEW Ryvita Protein. Every crunchy slice is baked with pea protein & rye, making them high in Protein, high in fibre & suitable for vegans. Try with hummus & your favourite veg for an easy protein-packed lunch. Available in the crackers aisle of all good supermarkets.”

Our Opinion – I love these vegan Ryvita snacks, which are high in protein and fibre. I love adding homemade hummus with cucumber and spinach or dairy-free yoghurt with berries and a layer of fruit compote. Whatever you want, these Ryvita crackers will complement almost anything! I will definitely be buying again. 5/5

PBfit Peanut Butter Powder – £0.75

PBfit Peanut Butter Powder - £0.75 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“PBfit is everything you love about peanut butter, made better. Whole-roasted peanuts, pressed to perfection, means PBfit contains up to 90% less fat than traditional peanut butter, and about 1/3 the calories. Great in smoothies, shakes, baking and more. *This product is only available for purchase in the USA 225g tub of PBfit is available in the UK in ASDA, Sainsbury’s, Amazon, Morrison’s, Ocado, Lakeland & More.”

Our Opinion – I love peanut butter so much, I can sometimes go through half a jar in one sitting! So, when I find a much healthier version, I jump at the chance! PBfit comes in powder form, so you just add water and you have yourself a peanut butter in whatever consistency you fancy. If you want it creamier, just add more water, if you want a denser peanut butter spread, add less. I’m impressed that I still tasted a bit of sweetness in this peanut butter even though it has much less sugar than some store-bought peanut butter jars. I enjoy peanut butter on everything, but my favourite is with tortilla or lettuce wraps and all the fruit and veg I can muster! 5/5

My lunch

Pick Up! Milk Chocolate – £1.69

Pick Up! Milk Chocolate - £1.69 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“PiCK UP! Bars by Bahlsen are a delicious combination of a thick and smooth milk chocolate slab, sandwiched between two crunchy biscuits. Bahlsen’s PiCK UP! Biscuits, Bahlsen’s PiCK UP! Biscuits are perfect for snacking on-the-go due to their individual wrapping, and are great to pick you up whenever you need a treat!”

Our Opinion – We are definite Bahlsen fans in this family and love that this biscuit is essentially a chocolate sandwich. They are so moreish too, so five bars is just not enough in one pack! 5/5

Hartley’s 10 Cal Jelly Pots – £0.75

Hartley's 10 Cal Jelly Pots - £0.75 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“Hartley’s 10 Cal jelly pots in a fabulous dessert-inspired flavours. These puds are perfect for an after sweet dinner treat, and with fewer than 10 calories per jelly pot they are ideal for avoiding any New Year resolution diet wobbles!”

Our Opinion– The boys love jelly, and it was nice to see such decadent flavours as Black Forest Gateau and Lemon Cheesecake. I sneaked in a taste, and they were lovely and not too sweet. I didn’t really taste the Black Forest Gateau, but I definitely tasted the Lemon Cheesecake infusion! 3.5/5

Kallo Corn Cakes & Lightly Salted Organic Rice Cakes – £1.30

Kallo Corn Cakes & Lightly Salted Organic Rice Cakes - £1.30 - January 2019 Degustabox Review

“Kallo’s range of Rice and Corn Cakes provide the perfect new year snacks to get you back on track. At only 30 calories per cake, less than 3% fat and all gluten free they make the perfect base for a delicious topping!”

Our Opinion – I love these rice cakes, they are so versatile and, like the Ryvita, I can add pretty much any topping. And it’s great that Kallo has Lentil Cakes which is packed with more protein, so they fill you up for longer. I would definitely keep stock of these in the cupboard for the boys when they’re hungry. 5/5

What did I like most about January 2019’s Degustabox?

Such great products this month, but my favourites have to be the Kallo Rice and Lentil Cakes because they are so versatile and you can get tons in a pack, so they last for a little while longer than some of the other products (not so long in our house when the boys are around though!)

Rating:

5 out of 5 – Such a great selection of products in this month’s box – you’ve got a great variety of healthy products which are perfect for kids and, of course, the PiCK UP! Biscuits if you’re feeling indulgent. Very impressive box, keep it up Degustabox!

Product Review


Leyla Preston (590 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/