fbpx

January 2016 – Degustabox Product Review – Healthy New Year

January 2016 Degustabox - Motherhooddiaries.com

A brand new year, a brand new healthy start! As Degustabox lives on, so does our fight to stay strong and healthy. With that said, here’s to another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands:

  • Finn Crisp – Crispbread
  • ColdPress – Apple Juice
  • Conscious Chocolate – Chocolate bar
  • Jordans Ryvita – Country Crisp Cereal
  • Amoy – Taste of Asia sauce
  • Tsingtao – Alcoholic Beer
  • Yushoi – Calbee Yushoi Sticks
  • Clarks – Carob Syrup
  • Slim Noodles – Nah Foods Slim Noodles
  • Fit Fit Bars – DB’s Discoveries*

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a whopping £6.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code 4HHOCL
at the checkout.


Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers have the opportunity to receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

Psst. One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries as a way to keep us in the loop for new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (5 years old)

Aidan (3.5 years old)

What’s in January’s Degustabox?

January 2016 Degustabox - Motherhooddiaries.com

Products

Finn Crisp

Finn Crisp - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Crunch FINN CRISP Original crispbread reflects all that is good about Nordic cuisine, using natural ingredients. It contains two distinct sources of goodness; made from wholegrain, it is rich in fibre, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, and as it is baked with sourdough, it’s low in fat with a distinctive tangy flavour.”

Our OpinionWe love Finn Crisps in our house because we get to enjoy them with a whole range of delicious, healthy goodies, like grapes, feta cheese, chutney and even jam – you name it! They’re super healthy, as they’re made from 100% rye wholegrain and they have a lovely tangy flavour. I can place some in my boys’ lunchboxes or grab a few for snacking on-the-go. Super versatile!

ColdPress

ColdPress - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“ColdPress Golden Delicious is “cold pressed” (not heat pasteurised) so it tastes fresher and retains more nutrients than conventional pasteurised apple juice. You get more nutrients, Vitamin C and other antioxidants with each sip. ColdPress Golden Delicious tastes exactly like the light sweet flavoured apple it was pressed from.”

Our Opinion – The clue is in the name and the result is a very fresh and delicious apple juice that I could get quite easily addicted to. Not too sweet and overwhelming, I thought this would be a great energy drink for kids too.

Conscious Chocolate

Plain Jane - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Conscious Chocolates – raw, organic, vegan, hand-made, truffle-like chocolate bars. We are showcasing three of our favourite bars. 1) Plain Jane is our smooth, award-winning bar that we base the range on. 2) Intense is a dark-chocolate lovers delight; a sophisticated bar balanced with vanilla 3). Chili Hot bar is an immune system booster with all chocolate taste first and a warming chili tingle to finish.”

Our Opinion – This chocolate bar tastes super raw and natural, so if you’re not a chocolate fan, you may not like this. I only enjoy dark chocolate and the higher the percentage, the better for me. So, I probably would have preferred to try out the Intense version, but I can imagine this chocolate would be amazing in cakes or grated over desserts.

Jordans Country Crisp

Jordans Country Crisp - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Jordans Country Crisp Fruit & Nut: Get ready for light and crunchy golden oat clusters with a generous handful of delicious fruit and crunchy nuts. And the best part? They stay crunchy to the last bite. The tastiest choice for fans of Fruit & Nut!”

Our Opinion – I’m not a fan of cereal (at all), but I happily enjoyed Jordan’s Fruit & Nut dry as a snack and in my awesome Biscotti recipe (which I will publish on Motherhood Diaries very soon). So versatile and tasty and they do taste nice with fresh, cold milk. So, perhaps, I can enjoy a bowl of these in the morning instead of my normal egg, avocado and tomato protein breakfast!

Amoy

Amoy - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Amoy’s New Taste of Asia range brings delicious cooking sauces in a convenient pouch, allowing you to prepare truly authentic Asian dishes at home. From classics such as Thai Green Curry to dishes like Malaysian Laksa and Thai Massaman Curry, our new range offers a selection to suit every taste.”

Our Opinion – Not one for cooking sauces (I prefer to make my own) I really enjoyed the authentic flavours in my rice and chicken recipes. However, they were too overwhelming for the boys and, ultimately, ended up not eating their dinners.

Tsingtao

Tsingtao - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Internationally recognised as the finest beer in China, Tsingtao is an incredibly smooth and easy to drink pilsner. Founded by The Anglo-German Brewery Co. Ltd in 1903 in the seaport of Qingdao in North Eastern China, it is still only ever brewed here using pure Laoshan Mountain spring water. Our master brewers select only the finest malt and hops and blend rice, to from the paddy fields of Western China, to mellow the bitter aftertaste, making it one of the most ‘drinkable’ beers around.”

Our Opinion – I am not really a fan of alcohol, so hubby volunteered to try this beer out for me (poor him!) and he was not impressed! He scrunched his face in disgust after the first sip and, in fact, put the bottle down! I’ve never seen hubby leave a full bottle of beer alone – ever. So, it goes to show that this beer definitely wasn’t for him, so it definitely wouldn’t be for me.

Yushoi

Yushoi - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Yushoi Snapea rice sticks are a baked snack made using green peas. As a healthier alternative to fried potato crisps they are less than 99 calories per 21g serving, suitable for vegetarians and vegans, nut and dairy free, high in fibre and a good source of protein.”

Our Opinion – There was something a little strange about the taste of these Snapea rice sticks. I believe it’s the balsamic vinegar against the soy flavour. I think the combination probably would have worked better with malt vinegar rather than balsamic and, perhaps, a little more of the soy to balance out the flavour. As light as these rice sticks are, the taste wasn’t agreeable with me. The boys, however, enjoyed them and almost finished the whole packet in one sitting!

Clarks

Clarks Carob Fruit Syrup - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Carob fruit syrup – A naturally sweet low GI syrup that is made by extracting the fruits from the Mediterranean Carob plant. It can be used every day to sweeten drinks and can be used in baking. It is suitable for vegetarians and vegans and diabetics as part of a controlled diet.”

Our Opinion – Loved, loved, loved this carob fruit syrup! I used it in absolutely everything that it, unfortunately, ran out too quickly. The syrup tastes perfect in tea and in the biscotti that I made with the Country Crisp cereal. I can easily find myself buying this again for a much more natural way of sweetening our favourite food and drink. I’m on a sugar diet at the moment, but have developed a sweet tooth. So, Carob Fruit Syrup would work perfectly for me. Huge thumbs up!

Slim Noodles

Slim Noodles - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Slim Noodles – UK’s No. 1 Health Product Made form organic Konjac flour and oat fibre (Juroat), Slim Noodles is a healthy alternative to regular noodles that Helps You Lose Weight: Zero Carbs, only 9 calories per 100g serving, Fat-free, Gluten-free, feel full for longer, Reduces Snacking, Vegan.”

Our Opinion – I did not like the texture of these slim noodles at all, even though the boys didn’t notice the difference in their chicken stir fry dinner. I much prefer the normal kind of noodles, but I can understand that these would work very well with those who are serious about losing weight or have allergy issues. They are a great alternative, as they look and feel like their carb counterparts – they just don’t taste the same…

DB’s Discoveries – Fit Fit Bars

Fit Fit Bars - January 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com

“Fit Fit are made by a simple process of using dried fruits and nuts. The fruit is ground to a paste with a little sulphur dioxide added to the Apricot for the colour effect, and the nuts are roughly chopped to small pieces.”

Our Opinion – If I am perfectly honest, I have absolutely no idea about what to do with these. I’m not a fan of pressed and processed food of any kind, so I couldn’t bring myself to try them. Maybe I’ll ask hubby to try…

What did I like most about January’s Healthy New Year Degustabox?

Hands down, Clarks Carob Syrup, which I would love to try again and be more adventurous with. The taste is superb. A healthy kind of sweet is my kind of sweet! J

What to watch out for:

I can imagine the Slim Noodles aren’t for everyone, but it’s worth a try.

Rating:

A respectable 3.5 out of 5, but only because my taste buds didn’t suit some of the products in this month’s Degustabox. I definitely enjoyed a much healthier version this month, as opposed to the other Degustaboxes that may have been too high in sugar for my liking. I would advocate healthier items every month, as the sugar epidemic, especially in the UK, is increasing rapidly and children are now being diagnosed with diabetes. These recent headlines have really shocked me into looking at the food that I provide at home for the kids and, as much as we can’t avoid sugar because it’s in almost everything, we can make more conscious decisions to choose the products that are less in sugar overall. Clark’s Carob Fruit Syrup is just that one step further! #Justsaying

Subscribe here to stay on top of new content added to Motherhood Diaries.

If you’d like to share your wealth of experience and knowledge with our community then you can apply to become a Motherhood Diaries’ Contributor here. Read our Ad Policy here.

Leyla Preston (602 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


shares