fbpx

February 2020 Degusta Box Review – Easter is Coming!

February 2020 Degusta Box Review
February 2020 Degusta Box Review – Easter is Coming!
User Rating: 0 (0 votes)

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degusta Box, which features the following brands this month:

  • TREK Protein Flapjack Cocoa Oat – £2.50
  • KITKAT Milk Chocolate Easter Bunny 29g – £0.65
  • Galaxy Vegan Bar – £3
  • Livia’s Salted Caramel Million Squares – £1.50
  • Jacked Foods Jackfruit Chunks – £1.89
  • My Sweet Chickpea – £1.25
  • Very Lazy Slow Cooker Pastes – £1.99
  • Mug Shot High Protein Roast Chicken Pasta – £1.29
  • Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard – £1.50
  • Lost Coast Fruit Spritzer + ACV – £2.49
  • Shaken Udder Milkshakes – £1.40
  • Heinz Paw Patrol & Disney Frozen No Added Sugar Pasta Shapes – £0.55

Full value of the box – £21.00!k

Here is the link to the full background of the Degusta Box and the service they offer: https://motherhooddiaries.com/Degusta Box-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-Degusta Box/


But, for a quick recap, Degusta Box is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.99 discount when signing up for your first Degusta Box by inserting discount code DEGUSTA5 at the checkout. Offer is valid up to and including 31 July 2019 so don’t miss out!

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degusta Box here: http://tidd.ly/8f140077

You can stay updated via Degusta Box’s social networks too:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/DegustaBoxUK/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/DegustaBoxUK

Instagram – @DegustaBox_UK #DegustaBox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degusta Box has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (9 years old)

Aidan (7 years old)

What’s in February 2020’s Degusta Box?

February 2020 Degusta Box Ingredients
February 2020 degusta box review

Motherhood Diaries unboxing this month’s Text Box below:

Products

TREK Protein Flapjack Cocoa Oat – £2.50

TREK Protein Flapjack Cocoa Oat - £2.50

“TREK Protein Flapjacks are a British classic, revolutionised. Made with gluten-free oats, containing 9g of plant-based protein, they’re vegan and taste amazing. Cocoa Oat is our number 1 selling flavour – glorious golden oats topped with melted dark cocoa. Let us know what you think on Instagram. Tag @Eattrek. Available in major supermarket chains, either in Free From or Cereal Bar aisle.”

Our Opinion – These were absolutely delicious and perfect to carry around as a snack. I love vegan products because they feel so much lighter on the tummy and the cocoa oat had a lovely rich flavour without being too sickly. I could eat all three of the bars that were supplied, but sadly I had to give one each to my boys too.

5/5

KITKAT Milk Chocolate Easter Bunny 29g – £0.65

KITKAT Milk Chocolate Easter Bunny 29g - £0.65

“Celebrate your Easter break with KITKAT Milk Chocolate Easter Bunnies! They all new KITKAT Bunnies have a smooth milk chocolate shell with a rich chocolatey centre with crispy wafer pieces. No artificial colours, flavours, or preservatives. Gluten-free. You should receive 2 items in your box. Available across all major supermarkets, W&C and Ireland.”

Our Opinion – These are such cute Easter bunny treats, which the boys loved. They taste just like normal KITKATS, but they look like cute bunnies and would fit perfectly in little Easter party bags or as part of a tasty treasure hunt over Easter. Every year, my middle one, whose birthday is on 5th April, sends out a little chocolate treat to his classmates, and these would be the ideal birthday treats for 30 kids as they’re affordable too.

5/5

Galaxy® Vegan Bar – £3

Galaxy® Vegan Bar - £3

“Galaxy® has recently launched a vegan alternative, available in three varieties; smooth orange, caramel and sea salt and caramelised hazelnut. Building on the brand’s mission to encourage everyone to Choose Pleasure, the vegan recipe uses hazelnut paste to create the same smooth creamy signature characteristics of GALAXY®. You should receive 1 of 3 items in your box. Available at Tesco, Ocado & Amazon.”

Our Opinion – I love sweet vegan products because I feel healthier eating these to the full-fat dairy alternatives. These Galaxy® vegan alternatives were utterly delicious! I loved them all, especially the caramelised hazelnut, which tasted wonderfully nutty and not super sweet. The smooth orange had a very subtle citrusy taste and I enjoyed the slight sea salt taste of the caramel & sea salt. They are quite expensive but if you’re looking for quality in a chocolate bar, I would definitely recommend these Galaxy® bars.

4/5

Livia’s Salted Caramel Million Squares – £1.50

Livia's Salted Caramel Million Squares - £1.50

“Unbelievably tasty, gooey, all-natural Salted Caramel Million Squares. Gooey date caramel between a layer of raw dark chocolate and oaty base. All Livia’s treats are vegan, gluten & dairy free and can be enjoyed by everyone! Available at Tesco, Sainsbury’s, Boots, Ocado, Waitrose, Holland & Barrett, and many more”

Our Opinion – I wasn’t expecting how thick and gooey this bar would be. It has a subtly sweet flavour; it doesn’t seem to overloaded in bad stuff, which is great. It’s a great snack to have as a pick-me-up and it’s great that it’s vegan too! Love vegan treats!

4/5

Jacked Foods Jackfruit Chunks

Jacked Foods Jackfruit Chunks

“Our dried jackfruit has a soft, chewy texture and a naturally sweet flavour that in some ways resembles that of a mango. Packed with vitamins and minerals, you almost wouldn’t believe it’s good for you! Available at Whole Foods, Borough Box (online) and at John Lewis.”

Our Opinion – These were interesting snacks. The jackfruit smelled awful but tasted quite different – sweet, gooey and stringy. I’m not sure I’m all too a fan of these snacks, but I get the appeal and that they’re healthy too. I like the mango version better. But dried fruit had never really been my thing.

– 2/5

My Sweet Chickpea – £1.25

My Sweet Chickpea - £1.25

“Dark chocolate covered roasted chickpea snacks. Who would have thought that could exist? What makes My Sweet Chickpea dramatically different is its nutritional profile; more protein and fibre to fill you up, with significantly less fat than chocolate or nuts! That’s why we call ourselves “Chocolate With Benefits”. Available in Asda FreeFrom Aisles and on Amazon.co.uk”

Our Opinion – I do love a bit of coconut flakes on my sweet treat, but these were just delicious. I love coconut dark chocolate covered chickpeas – it’s everything I want in a sweet treat. Not too sweet and very moreish. I want more!!

5/5

Very Lazy Slow Cooker Pastes – £1.99

Very Lazy Slow Cooker Pastes - £1.99

“Cook up a storm with our Slow Cooking Paste Pots. Each flavour has two recipes (one meaty, one meat-free), require only a handful of ingredients and a little prep to make incredible meals. No slow cooker? No problem, these also work in the oven, see pack for details. You shoulder receive 1 of 2 items in your box. Available at Tesco”

Our Opinion – I love the idea of these cute little slow cooker pots to help add depth of flavour to the dish. Unfortunately, although they tasted lovely (especially the Harissa Tagine) they were too spicy for the kids to enjoy. I would love to try slow cooker pots that aren’t spicy at all so the kids can enjoy next time.

– 3/5

Mug Shot High Protein Roast Chicken Pasta – £1.29

Mug Shot High Protein Roast Chicken Pasta - £1.29

“Mug Shot protein pots are not only hot, tasty and high protein, they’re super convenient at work, at home or on the go. Containing less than 2% Fat, under 260 Calories and 13g protein per pot, they are ready in just 5 minutes!. Available at Tesco & ASDA”

Our Opinion – I am not really a fan of instant pots as I find them to taste either quite watery and bland or chemical and strong. I found this Mug Shot to be neither and quite enjoyed the taste of the chicken pasta. My only criticism is that you get little for £1.29.

3/5

Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard – £1.50

Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard - £1.50

“Grey Poupon is a delicious premium brand of French Dijon and Wholegrain Mustard. Our Dijon is made in the traditional French way and has been since 1777; with a white wine base which helps bring a smooth and delicious flavour to your favourite dishes. Bon Appetit!. Available at Waitrose, Tesco, Ocado, M&S & Booths.”

Our Opinion – I love Dijon Mustard, I have a whole selection of different kinds of mustard condiments in my fridge! So, I knew I would love this one. I add Dijon mustard to almost everything, and this particular brand did not disappoint. Yum!

5/5

Lost Coast Fruit Spritzer + ACV

Lost Coast Fruit Spritzer + ACV

“Lost Coast offers a range of Fruit Spritzers+ACV. A great-tasting and revitalising drink that blends sparkling water, unique botanicals and Apple Cider Vinegar, a natural remedy good for the gut and known for health-giving properties. Low in sugar and calories, they are available in three different flavours. *You should receive 1 of 3 items in your box. Available at Ocado, Revital Health Stores, As Nature Intended and lostcoastdrinks.com.”

Our Opinion – At first I thought that this particular Apple Cider Vinegar drink was going to be disgusting but it actually didn’t taste too bad. You could still taste the ACV aftertaste and that was a bit much but otherwise, it was quite refreshing. I don’t know whether you would experience the full benefits of ACV in a drink that’s sweetened but it’s a nice treat drink to have when you want to quench your thirst

3.5/5

Heinz Paw Patrol & Disney Frozen No Added Sugar Pasta Shapes

Heinz Paw Patrol & Disney Frozen No Added Sugar Pasta Shapes

“Introducing our delicious new pasta shapes featuring your favourite Disney Frozen and Paw Patrol characters in a rich juice tomato sauce. Now available with no added sugar with the great Heinz taste families know and love! *You should receive 2 items in your box. Available at Tesco, Sainsbury’s, Waitrose & Ocado.”

Our Opinion – These are a nice snack staple to have in your cupboard for younger children as kids enjoy eating anything which has their favourite characters on the packaging. The boys are old for the branded label tins, but they still enjoyed eating a small pasta dish in between meals to whet their appetite.

4/5

What did I like most about February 2020’s Degusta Box?

I’m loving that there are more vegan products in the box now. I love all the sweet snacks, I think they’re delicious, but my favourite has to be the TREK Flapjacks and My Sweet Chickpea chocolate balls. They were utterly moreish!

Rating:

4 out of 5 – I love all the vegan products. I would love to see less spicy ingredients though so my boys can enjoy the meals next time.

FREE Resource Library!

Md birth plan template cover image

Subscribe now and receive your exclusive password to access a whole library of extra content!

Checklists, Printables, Guides - it's all yours when you subscribe!

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit
Leyla Preston (595 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


shares