fbpx

February 2019 Degustabox review – Degusta and chill

February 2019 degustabox review

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

  • Appy Kids Co – Whole Milk – £1.99
  • Clearspring Organic Seaveg Crispies Turmeric Multi-Pack (Vegan/Gluten Free) – £2.59
  • Choc Chick – Quinoa Pops and Plantain Bites – £1.85
  • Snaffling Pig – Pork Crackling Low & Slow BBQ/Perfectly Salted – £0.75
  • Deli Kitchen Folded Brioche Flatbreads (Fresh product) – £1.25
  • Explore Cuisine Organic Chickpea Fusilli (Vegan/Gluten Free) – £3.00
  • Sacla’ – Reduced Fat Basil Pesto (Vegan/Gluten Free) – £2.50 – PLUS competition to win a hamper full of products tailored to your dietary requirements – more info below!
  • Bebeto – Watermelon Jelly Gums – £0.50
  • Orangina – Original (Vegan/Gluten Free) – £1.30

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that provides a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.99 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.


Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (8 years old)

Aidan (6 years old)

What’s in February 2019’s Degustabox?

February 2019 Degustabox
February 2019 Degustabox - ingredients

Motherhood Diaries unboxing this month’s Degustabox below:

Products

Appy Kids Co – Whole Milk – £1.00

February 2019 Degustabox - Appy Kids Co - Whole Milk

“Our milk is yummy, clean and healthy. Produced using Red Tractor approved milk to enforce excellent standards of farming and preparation, the range is 100% traceable and packed in British factories for the freshest taste and a longer shelf life. Available at Morrisons stores nationwide.”

Our Opinion – The boys absolutely loved this milk and the cartons were a great addition to the lunchboxes I packed when we headed to the park. I don’t drink cow’s milk so I didn’t taste it myself, but the boys said they really liked the taste. I would prefer it to be a plant milk though 4.5/5

Clearspring – Organic Seaveg Crispies Turmeric Multi-pack – £2.59

Clearspring – Organic Seaveg Crispies Turmeric Multi-pack - £2.59

“Clearspring’s Organic Seaveg Crispies Turmeric are a light, delicious toasted nori sea vegetable snack, made with just four simple ingredients. They’re baked for just a few seconds to create their unique and moreish flavour. They are gluten free, vegan, high in fibre and contain only 18 calories per bag.”

Our Opinion – I love seeing ‘vegan’ on products, but I wasn’t too sure what to do with these crispies. I tried them by themselves and they tasted a bit strange, although I was impressed that they tasted just like the nori I used to eat. So I tried them in salads and they provided a salty crunchy flavour which meant I didn’t need to add salt. There are quite a few in a pack, so I will attempt to make some vegan sushi rolls next! 4/5

Choc Chick Quinoa Pops and Plantain Bites – £1.85

Choc Chick Quinoa Pops and Plantain Bites - £1.85

“CHOC Chick’s delicious new vegan treats combine the wholegrain goodness of quinoa and tropical loveliness of plantain with the finest Ecuadorian single origin organic cacao. Diary and gluten free, with 50% less sugar than your average chocolates, these new Quinoa Pops and Plaintain Bites are the perfect guilt free indulgence. @gochocchick”

Our Opinion – I absolutely loved these gorgeous chocolate snacks, especially as they are vegan and made from healthy quinoa and plaintain! The flavour was so authentic and the kids loved the taste of each of these as well. I would much rather be offering my kids these kinds of sweet snacks than regular sweets 5/5

Snaffling Pig Pork Crackling Low & Slow BBQ/Perfectly Salted – £0.75

Snaffling Pig Pork Crackling Low & Slow BBQ/Perfectly Salted - £0.75

“We think if something is worth doing, it’s worth doing piggin’ right. That’s why we always set out to make the finest, most awesome flavoured pork crackling possible. Winners of 9 Great Taste Awards, our premium cuts of pork are double-cooked and bursting full of flavour.”

Our Opinion – I didn’t try these myself but my husband did and he really didn’t like them He has never tried pork scratchings before and was really overwhelmed by the saltiness. He definitely wasn’t impressed! 1/5

Deli Kitchen Folded Brioche Flatbreads – £1.25

Deli Kitchen Folded Brioche Flatbreads - £1.25

“Deli Kitchen wants to inspire consumers to branch out from the traditional lunch options of sliced sandwiches and salads and try their new range inspired by breads from across the globe. This brioche folded flatbread is a rich, melt-in-the-mouth flatbread. Perfect for burgers or with griddled steak and gooey cheese.”

Our Opinion – Loved, loved these brioche flatbreads and they didn’t last long enough to pop into the freezer! I made a lovely bean stir fry and created little brioche pockets which the family wolfed down at dinner. I’d definitely get these again! 5/5

Bean stew recipe with brioche flatbreads

Explore Cuisine Organic Chickpea Fusilli – £3

Explore Cuisine Organic Chickpea Fusilli - £3

“Explore the possibilities – pasta made from plant-based protein and fibre which is easy to prepare colourful and simply delicious. Just add your favourite vegetables or sauce so the entire family can enjoy! Organic, vegan and naturally gluten-free – it’s the smarter way to pasta! #USEYOURNOODLE.”

Our Opinion – We haven’t had the chance to try these new chickpea fusilli pasta yet but I really cannot wait to try with the below Sacla’ pesto and some veg. I love the idea of chickpea pasta and I hope that it’ll be a hit in our house as I would definitely replace the normal whole wheat pasta with something that is packed with more protein and fibre. 5/5

Sacla’ Reduced Fat Basil Pesto – £2.50

Sacla' Reduced Fat Basil Pesto - £2.50

“Sacla’ new Reduced Fat Pesto has 30% less fat than Classic Pesto and no added sugar or salt. The healthiest pesto replaces cheese with tofu making it suitable for vegans too – what’s not to love?”

Our Opinion – Again, we haven’t tried this pesto yet but I’d absolutely love to try it with the chickpea pasta. Anything vegan gets my top vote! 5/5

COMPETITION!

Degustabox is partnering with Sacla’ to offer each Degustabox subscriber the chance to win a hamper full of Pesto, pasta sauces and antipasti, with 2nd and 3rd runners up being in with a chance to win a free Degustabox. Each participant will also automatically win 20 points added to their account so it’s definitely worth entering! All you need to do is follow the Sacla’ Instagram page @sacla_UK then upload your best recipe pictures using the Sacla’ Reduced Fat pesto, with the hashtag #Degustasacla on Instagram.

Competition is open to UK residents only and ends on 18th March 2019 – so hurry, not long to go now!

Bebeto Watermelon Jelly Gums – £0.50

Bebeto Watermelon Jelly Gums - £0.50

“Bebeto Watermelon is our biggest selling pack in the UK with over 3m sold in 2018. We hope you enjoy.”

Our Opinion – The boys loved these sweets – I thought they’d be sour, but they were quite sweet. It’s not something I would give to the boys, but it makes for a nice treat 3.5/5

Orangina Original – £1.30

Orangina Original - £1.30

“Orangina, with its unmistakable orange flavour, soft sparkle and real citrus pulp, makes the perfect refreshing drink. It is both delicious on it’s own with ice and a slice of orange, or as a mixer in mocktails and cocktails.”

Our Opinion– I am a fan of fizzy orange and I used to remember drinking Orangina when I was younger. The familiar taste brings me back and it’s so refreshing after a meal. 4/5

What did I like most about February 2019’s Degustabox?

I absolutely loved the Choc Chick Quinoa Pops and Plaintain Bites – what a great innovative idea to offer healthy sweet snacks like that! I also enjoyed the Deli Kitchen Folded Brioche Flatbreads, which were wolfed down by the entire family in one sitting. I will have to buy more of both!

Rating:

4 out of 5 – A great selection of vegan products this month, which I love – keep ’em coming!

Unbiased product review
Never miss a new post! Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want to read! Follow Motherhood Diaries on Facebook (Facebook Recipes Page), Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and LinkedIn If you’d like to share your pregnancy or parenting story, then please do share your story here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy

Leyla Preston (610 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


shares