December 2018 Degustabox Review

December 2018 Degustabox Review

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

  • Nature’s Store – Salted Caramel Popcorn Bar
  • Maggi Fusion Noodle Pots – Chow Mein / Spiced Curry /Sweet Chilli
  • Delverde Pasta – Festonati / Spaghetti / Penne Zita Rigate
  • Nestle – Shredded Wheat Breakfast on the Go
  • Slush Puppie – Sour Cherry – Product of the Month
  • Green & Black’s – Blueberry Velvet Fruit and Orange Velvet Fruit
  • Jack Daniel’s Lynchburg Lemonade
  • Funkin Cocktails – Funkin Passion Fruit Martini Shaker
  • Sleep Well Chocolate Milk

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that provides a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.99 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

If you're pregnant, sign up below to receive personalised weekly emails straight to your inbox!

* indicates required
/ / ( dd / mm / yyyy )

Please check the 'Email' box below if you are happy to receive weekly pregnancy emails from Motherhood Diaries

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (8 years old)

Aidan (6 years old)

What’s in December 2018’s Degustabox?

December 2018 Degustabox Review - All the items
December 2018 Degustabox Review

Motherhood Diaries unboxing this month’s Degustabox below:

Products

Nature’s Store – Salted Caramel Popcorn Bar – £0.89

Nature's Store - Salted Caramel Popcorn Bar - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“New popcorn bars from Nature’s Store are a super healthy, free from a way to snack. They combine popcorn, seeds, dates and gluten-free oats with no added sugar Belgian chocolate. With four high fibre, nutrient-rich seeds and at less than 150 calories per bar, they’re the perfect healthy and delicious snack. Soon available in major supermarkets.”

Our Opinion – This popcorn bar was super delicious – it didn’t taste too sweet, and I loved how dense and rich the salty caramel combined with the popcorn, chocolate and seeds were together. It’s a really filling bar and a great snack to enjoy on the go. 4.5/5

Maggi Fusian – Noodle Pots / Chow Mein / Spiced Curry / Sweet Chilli – £1.15

Maggi Fusian - Noodle Pots / Chow Mein / Spiced Curry / Sweet Chilli - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Take the taste of Asia with you wherever you go with new Maggi Fusian Noodle Pots! Each pot includes premium noodles and sachets of spices and veggies so you can enjoy mouth-watering Asian flavoured noodles – ready in just four minutes!”

Our Opinion – These pot noodles are great when you can’t be bothered to cook lunch, or you haven’t got time to make dinner. The spiced curry is quite spicy and rich, the Sweet Chilli has definitely got a kick to it, but the Chow Mein was my favourite. The flavours are strong, and the little sachets really enhance the flavour. 3.5/5

Delverde Pasta – Festonati / Spaghetti / Penne Zita / Rigate – £1.99

Delverde Pasta - Festonati / Spaghetti / Penne Zita / Rigate - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Delverde pasta is made with the best durum wheat and the water from a very special place: the Verde River, which flows through the Majella National Park, in the Abruzzo region of Italy. Delverde is made using traditional bronze dies and is slowly dried to preserve its wonderful flavour.”

Our Opinion – We tried the spaghetti version, and the noodles were thicker and denser than the normal spaghetti we buy. They took longer to cook, but I did enjoy the change in texture in my one-pot spaghetti! 4/5

Nestle Shredded Wheat Breakfast on the Go – £1.99

Nestle Shredded Wheat Breakfast on the Go - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Made with just one natural ingredient – 100% whole grain wheat, which is crafted into deliciously crispy biscuits for a mouth-wateringly good breakfast cereal for the whole family… Our wholegrain cereal is sown, grown and ripened in Britain, using a recipe unchanged since 1893.”

Our Opinion – This is a great idea for people who are rushing to work and don’t have time for breakfast, or for busy kids who got up too late for school and have five minutes to eat! The cereal is delicious, and I would definitely repurchase it. 4/5

Slush Puppie – Sour Cherry – £1.29

Slush Puppie - Sour Cherry - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“The iconic SLUSH PUPPIE is now available in convenient, resealable pouches. The brand new range contains the original SLUSH PUPPIE taste but with no added sugar. Available in Sour Cherry, Blue Raspberry and Strawberry, each pouch contains just 95 calories. Simply freeze, squeeze & drink.”

Our Opinion – I loved the taste of this Sour Cherry SLUSH PUPPIE, but it was tough to squeeze after it froze! I had to let it melt for a bit, but the taste was great! 3.5/5

Green & Black’s – Blueberry Velvet Fruit & Orange Velvet Fruit – £3.29

Green & Black's – Blueberry Velvet Fruit & Orange Velvet Fruit - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Indulgent fruit centres, delicately coated in rich, smooth dark chocolate. Discover a new indulgent chocolate experience.”

Our Opinion – I absolutely love Green & Black’s chocolate, I find them so indulgent, and high quality and these two gorgeous velvet fruit alternatives did not disappoint! My favourite was the blueberry, and they were so moreish that I was gutted when I’d finished them too quickly. 5/5

Jack Daniel’s Lynchburg Lemonade – £1.80

Jack Daniel's Lynchburg Lemonade - £1.80 - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Jack Daniel’s Lynchburg Lemonade combines the distinctive character of our fine Tennessee Whiskey, a dash of triple sec and a perfect measure of zesty lemonade for an expertly crafted drink from our home to yours.”

Our Opinion – I didn’t try these myself, but my husband said they had a bit of a zing to them. He said he probably wouldn’t repurchase the Lemonade flavour, but he does like the idea of flavoured whiskies – 3.5/5

Funkin Cocktails Funkin Passion Fruit Martini Shaker – £4.00

Funkin Cocktails Funkin Passion Fruit Martini Shaker - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Funkin Cocktails exist to shake up the ordinary, making great tasting cocktails available to all. Simply add spirit and ice and make it shake to create four delicious cocktails. Available in a range of classic flavours including Mojito, Pina Colada and Espresso Martini.”

Our Opinion – These Funkin Cocktails are an interesting concept, you just add ice and spirit and you have yourself a nice cocktail! We changed it up a bit and tried this martini with gin, which wasn’t as great as naturally the vodka, and it made for a great new year’s treats. It’s an interesting idea and one I can see using during get-togethers and parties 4.5/5

Sleep Well Chocolate Milk

Sleep Well Chocolate Milk - December 2018 Degustabox Review

“Sleep Well is the new, natural milk drink that helps you relax and get a better night’s sleep. A gorgeous tasting, long life drink for the whole family made with whole Jersey milk, honey and valerian – the herb that’s been helping people relax and sleep for 2,000 years.”

Our Opinion– This Sleep Well chocolate milk drink was very thick and creamy, with a lovely sweet taste. I’m not sure I would be offering this chocolate milk to the kids at bedtime as I can’t see how the sugar will help them sleep. However, it’s a lovely drink to have alongside snacktime and when their friends come around to their house. 3.5/5

What did I like most about December 2018’s Degustabox?

Easily the Green & Black’s chocolates were my favourite – I didn’t feel so guilty munching them all in one sitting because they had fruit in them! I will definitely be buying more…

Rating:

4 out of 5 – A great selection of products and some fun treats for the Christmas/New Year period. I’d love to see more plant-based items and more Green & Black’s, please!

Product review

Leyla Preston (590 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/