fbpx

August 2016 Degustabox Review

August 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

degustabox - motherhooddiaries
Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

  • Get More Vitamin Drinks – Sparkling Lemon & Lime
  • Capsicana Ltd – Cook Sauce
  • Tabasco – Sweet & Sticky Barbecue Sauce & Marinade
  • Fentimans Ltd – Sparkling Lime & Jasmine
  • Clipper – Lime & Ginger Green Tea
  • LighterLife Nutrition Limited Aromatic Thai Noodles NutriPot & Moroccan Couscous NutriPot
  • Geeta’s Foods Ltd – Premium Mango Chutney
  • Geeta’s Foods Ltd – Tikka Curry Paste & Rogan Josh Curry Paste
  • Mahou San Miguel – Mahou Cinco Estrellas
  • Dorset Cereals – Dorset Cereals Bircher Muesli Mix
  • Rakusen’s – Plain & Gluten Free Snackers
  • Willy Chase’s – Fit Popcorn
  • Oloves – Chili & Oregano Olives

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: https://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.


Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.

You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers have the opportunity to receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries as a way to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (5 years old)

Aidan (4 years old)

Review:

What’s in August’s Degustabox?

August 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

Products

Get More Vitamin Drinks Sparkling Lemon & Lime

Get More Multivitamins - August Degustabox 2016

“Popping pills not for you? Get More Vitamin Drinks provides a refreshing way to top up your vitamins, made with spring water, natural flavours and no added sugar.

Get More Multivitamins – Sparkling Lemon & Lime flavour, gives you a daily dose of vitamins. Biotin (Vitamin B7) and magnesium fire up for metabolism making you feel more energetic. Vitamins B6 and B12 support your immune system, and zinc helps you maintain healthy skin, hair and nails. Fortified with 100% of you daily dose of B1, B3, B5, B6, B7, B12, C and 25% of magnesium and zinc.

With 6 varieties including Get More Multivitamins and Get More Vitamin D, the range is available in selected Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury’s, WH Smith, Spar, Superdrug and Roadchef stores nationwide and on Ocado.
http://www.getmorevits.com/”

Our Opinion – Refreshing and citrusy, I enjoyed this drink after a heavy meal and, as it contains a lot of vitamins and minerals, I could see myself enjoying a drink like Get More Vitamins every day. Much better than getting your vitamins in tablet form! 4.5/5.

4.5 / 5 - motherhooddiaries

Capsicana Ltd Cook Sauce

Capiscana Cook Sauce - August Degustabox - Motherhooddiaries

“The Brazilian Chilli & Coconut Cook Sauce is based on the classic dish ‘Moqueca’ (‘mo-KEH-kah’). It’s a flavoursome stew, commonly cooked in ‘capixba’ pans that are made out of black clay and mangrove tree sap. Usually featuring fish or any type of seafood, this sauce also goes well with vegetables, pork or chicken.
http://www.capsicana.co.uk/

Our Opinion – Although the Peruvian Sauce had quite a spice to it, it lent itself very well to a nice pasta and potatoes meal. The sauce is rich and creamy and the lemon really enhances the flavour of the dish. Unfortunately, the chili was just too spicy for the boys, but hubby and I really enjoyed our Peruvian pasta dinner. 4/5

Capsicana Chilli & Lemon Peruvian Cook Sauce - Pasta and Potatoes - motherhooddiaries

4 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Tabasco Sweet & Sticky Barbecue Sauce & Marinade

Tabasco Sweet & Sticky Barbecue Sauce & Marinade - motherhooddiaries

“TABASCO® Sweet & Sticky Barbecue Sauce & Marinade is a mild, Barbecue sauce enhanced by the rich and smoky flavours of TABASCO® Chipotle Sauce. Perfect for drizzling over pulled pork, marinating ribs and pouring on your burger. Available NOW in Tesco, ASDA & Ocado” http://tabascobrunch.com/

Our Opinion – This barbecue sauce really is sweet, but it tastes awesome alongside a barbecued meat like burgers or lamb chops. I added this sauce to my homemade burgers and the boys really loved it. It’s as sweet as ketchup! 4/5  4 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Fentimans Ltd Sparkling Lime & Jasmine

Fentimans Ltd Sparkling Lime & Jasmine - motherhooddiaries

“Sparkling Lime and Jasmine is a sophisticated, complex and refreshing drink that is aimed at a growing group of consumers seeking a credible alternative to alcohol. In line with the Fentimans range of premium adult soft drinks. Sparkling Lime and Jasmine is made using the time-honoured botanical brewing technique to deliver real body, a unique depth of flavour and a liquid that delivers the cues of a sparkling wine.
A light but finely balanced liquid with a distinctive botanical aroma. The initial refreshing bitterness on the tongue is quickly balanced by the botanical sweetness of Hyssop, Lime Flower and Juniper Berries to leave a clean, dry citrus note. The aroma is created by a complex mix of botanical infusions including white jasmine flowers.
*You will receive either the Fentimans Drink or the Mahou Cinco Estrellas Beer in your Degustabox.”
http://www.fentimans.com/

Our Opinion – Any kind of drink with lemon or lime in it is an absolute winner for me. However, I wasn’t too much of a fan of the Jasmine infusion in this Sparkling Lime and Jasmine carbonated drink. The lime on its own would have sufficed, as it’s strong but very refreshing. It may suit those who like herbal teas and infusions, but not one for me I’m afraid.  2.5/5

4.5 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Clipper Lime & Ginger Green Tea

Lime & Ginger Green Tea - motherhooddiaries

“Let your inner beauty bloom
Mirror, mirror, on the wall…
The Rejuvenating and refreshing properties of green tea, together with our Fairtrade story, makes clipper the fairest of them all…

Kick-start your tastebuds with this energising blend of green tea naturally flavoured with lime and ginger.”
http://www.clipper-teas.com/

Our Opinion – Again, another lime infusion to our drinks and I love, love, love this tea! It’s still a little too warm to enjoy hot cuppas in the evening, but I’m saving my tea bags for when the weather takes a cold turn and I need to warm up my insides. There is a very subtle taste to both the lime and ginger and they complement each other beautifully. No sugar needed to enhance this drink, it’s great on its own. 5/5  5 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

LighterLife Nutrition Limited Aromatic Thai Noodles NutriPot & Moroccan Couscous NutriPot

NutriPots - August 2016 Degustabox

“Healthy fast food for life on the go.

Introducing NutriPot; the healthy choice for lunch or a snack when you’re looking for a convenient, nutritious, quality product. Each pot contains 50% of your daily vitamin and mineral needs; helping you to get through the day with a little more ease.

Try a NutriPot today and enjoy a filling lunch pot which is high in protein (keeping you fuller for longer), low in saturated fats and has no added sugar, artificial colours or preservatives.

Put the kettle on and enjoy one of five flavours – Aromatic Thai Noodles, Chicken and Mushroom Noodles, Moroccan Couscous, Quatro Formaggi Pasta or Pasta Bolognese.”
http://nutripot.com/

Our Opinion – I like the fact that you only need to add hot water to the pot and wait until the water is absorbed by the food. However, the boys did not like the intense flavours of each of these and I ended up eating half and my husband eating the other. These pots are great for those who need to eat lunch quickly and don’t have access to a stove or microwave. But, the flavours of these pots require an acquired taste, so be prepared!

NutriPots - motherhooddiaries

3.5/5  3.5/5 - motherhooddiaries

Geeta’s Foods Ltd Premium Mango Chutney

Geeta’s Foods Ltd Tikka Curry Paste & Rogan Josh Curry Paste

Geeta's Foods Ltd - August 2016 - motherhooddiaries

Geeta’s Foods Ltd Premium Mango Chutney

“Premium Mango Chutney made with the finest mangoes, whole spices, and Geeta’s secret blend of spices. Great with Sandwiches jacket potatoes, nachos, meals, and even whipped into some homemade Ice Cream. A versatile Sweet and spicy chutney, that will leave you wanting more.
*You will receive either Capiscana Cook Sauce OR Geeta’s Mango Chutney OR Geeta’s Curry Pastes in your Degustabox.
http://geetasfoods.com/

Our Opinion – Geeta’s Foods Ltd Premium Mango Chutney is the best chutney that I have ever, ever tasted. I slathered it on everything, including crackers, toast, burgers, chips, you name it. I love the smokiness of the flavours. The cloves and the mango really compliment each other and the ingredients are just so fresh and natural. It’s now my favourite chutney and one I will be buying again and again and again. 5/5  5/5 - motherhooddiaries

Geeta’s Foods Ltd Tikka Curry Paste & Rogan Josh Curry Paste

“A medium Tikka curry paste with tomatoes, onions, and Geeta’s own special blend of exotic spices, creates a delicious aromatic curry, perfect for two.

A medium Rogan Josh curry paste with tamarind, fennel, and Geeta’s own special blend of exotic spices, creates a delicious aromatic curry, perfect for two.

*You will receive either Capiscana Cook Sauce OR Geeta’s Mango Chutney OR Geeta’s Curry Pastes in your Degustabox.
http://geetasfoods.com/

Our Opinion – I haven’t tried the Rogan Josh Curry Paste yet, but the Tikka Curry paste had a very authentic and rich flavour to it, so much so that it was way too much for the boys’ palates to comprehend. But, I would definitely consider adding this paste to a chicken and rice based curry and you’ve got yourself a meal that feels like it was ordered from a top Indian restaurant. 4/5  4 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Mahou San Miguel Mahou Cinco Estrellas

Estrellas - August 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Mahou Cinco Estrellas, the quintessential taste for beer lovers, has always been a byword for quality and authenticity. A beer created to satisfy the most discerning palates, made using the highest quality varieties of hops and yeast which shapes its characteristic body and flavour.

You will receive either the Fentimans Drink or the Mahou Cinco Estrellas Beer in your Degustabox.”
https://www.mahou.com/en/

Our Opinion – Hubby was afforded the opportunity to try the Estrellas beer for me and he said that it was ‘ok’. When I asked what he meant by ‘ok’, he said, ‘well, it’s beer.’. Thanks, hubby, a very insightful opinion. Having said that, if it was a great beer, he would have told me. So, if you want beer, then you won’t be disappointed. If you want great beer, then… you may or may not like this.  2/5  2 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Dorset Cereals Bircher Muesli Mix

Dorsets Cereals - August 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Originating in Switzerland, Bircher muesli is made by soaking oats overnight in juice and yoghurt, with a touch of grated fruit. We’ve simplified the method with our fruity Bircher mixes, using finely milled oats and dried fruit which can be soaked in as little as 30 minutes, for a cooler, creamier muesli.”
https://www.dorsetcereals.co.uk/

Our Opinion – My husband is Swiss, I’ve been to Switzerland over a dozen times and I have always been in love with everything there. I thought I was really going to love this muesli and in cakes I do.  I also think the spoon is an awesome touch. But, I don’t have 30 minutes to soak oats before the boys eat them, so that kind of annoyed me a bit if I’m honest. It would be great to have ready-made muesli in the morning, as school mornings are a rush as it is. But, perhaps, if I find some time, I will soak the oats and see what happens the next day.  3/5  3 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Rakusen’s Plain & Gluten Free Snackers

Rakusens Snackers - August 2016 - motherhooddiaries

“Rakusen’s has been producing delicious, healthy crackers since 1900. In fact, we were the first manufacturer in the UK ever to do so. Our entire range of crackers & snackers is flame-baked to a traditional recipe, giving each bite a unique but subtle nutty flavour.

Rakusen’s Plain & Gluten Free 85g Snackers

Available to buy from Tesco & Sainsbury’s and online from Ocado!”
http://www.rakusens.co.uk/

Our Opinion – These crackers are quite bland if eaten on their own, but when you pair them with fruit, veg, and seeds, they take on a life of their own! Even better, add Geeta’s Foods Premium Mango Chutney and you have got yourself one heck of a snack! 4.5/5  4.5 out of 5 - motherhooddiaries

Fruit, seed and veg platter with Rakusens - motherhooddiaries

Fruit, seed Rakusens - motherhooddiaries

Willy Chase’s Fit Popcorn

Chase's Honey Popcorn - August 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Willy Chase’s Fit popcorn begins and ends its journey at the Chase farm in rural Herefordshire. Our very own corn is air-popped by hand, for a deliciously light and crunchy popcorn. No fryers here! We cook our delicious flavours in our popcorn kitchen, using locally sourced ingredients. Each pack is popping with flavour, but without the guilt. It’s popcorn with pedigree, because food tastes better fresh from the farm!
*You will receive one of four flavours in your Degustabox.”
http://www.willychases.co.uk

Our Opinion – I really don’t like anything honey flavoured, the aftertaste makes me gag a little. But, there was such subtlety to the flavours that this popcorn just tasted slightly sweet. The boys enjoyed them and so I let them go to town on the packet. I still prefer slightly salted, though, as we’re trying to steer clear of products that don’t really need sugar in them. 3.5/5  3.5/5 - motherhooddiaries

Oloves Chili & Oregano Olives

Oloves - August 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Oloves; bring you the tastiest olives, freshly packed and in a range of delicious flavours. Bursting with natural goodness, low in calories. No stones. No fuss. Just the best snack going.”
http://www.oloves.com

Our Opinion – Although there were just not enough olives in this packet (I love olives), I did enjoy the very edgy taste to these chili & oregano olives. In fact, I finished them within 3 minutes and my tongue was burning. But, then again, I like olives with an edge. 4.5/5  4.5 / 5 - motherhooddiaries

What did I like most about August’s Degustabox?

Geeta’s Foods Premium Mango Chutney. So versatile, tasty and full of flavour. I am telling you, I added it to EVERYTHING!

Rating:  4 out 5 - motherhooddiaries

4 out of 5 – Geeta’s Foods, you made this Degustabox go from good to great. I love your products, keep up the awesome work!

Never miss a new post!

Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want to read!

Follow Motherhood Diaries on Facebook (Facebook Recipes Page), Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and LinkedIn

If you’d like to share your pregnancy or parenting story, then please do share your story here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy!

FREE Resource Library!

Subscribe now and receive your exclusive password to access a whole library of extra content!

Checklists, Printables, Guides - it's all yours when you subscribe!

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit
Leyla Preston (603 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 8, and Aidan, 7. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


shares