May Picnic 2017 Degustabox Review

May 2017 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.


You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (6 years old)

Aidan (5 years old)

Review:

What’s in May 2017’s Picnic themed Degustabox?

May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

Check out our unboxing video below:

Products

ZEO Soft Drinks

Zeo soft drinks - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Zeo are delicious all-natural, low calorie, soft drinks. Blended with natural fruit juices, exotic botanicals and a splash of spring water. They’re big on flavour, without the guilt!
#CheatOnWater

*One of four flavours was included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/drinkzeo
https://twitter.com/DrinkZEO
https://www.instagram.com/drinkzeo/
http://www.drinkzeo.com

Our Opinion – We’re huge fans of Zeo drinks, primarily because they do not taste like they are ladened with e numbers and chemicals that I can’t pronounce. The Peach & Grapefruit version is delicious and only 36 calories! So, you can enjoy without feeling guilty afterwards.

4.5/5

CRABBIE’S Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer

Crabbie's original alcoholic ginger beer - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Crabbie’s Alcoholic Ginger Beer is free from artificial colours, flavours and sweeteners. Best served over ice in a tall glass and can also be enjoyed as part of a Gluten Free diet. Find us in the beer and cider aisle of all major supermarkets and visit on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram @CrabbiesUK.

*This product was included in the alcohol version of the Degustabox only.

https://www.facebook.com/CrabbiesUK/
https://twitter.com/CrabbiesUK
https://www.instagram.com/crabbiesuk/
http://www.crabbiesgingerbeer.co.uk

Our Opinion – I am not the biggest fan of ginger beer, so I graciously gifted hubby the chance to try this drink and he said it was ‘pleasant’. There is a strong gingery aftertaste, which made hubby grimace a little, but the bottle was lugged quite swiftly, so it couldn’t have been that bad!

3.5/5

CADBURY DAIRY MILK Big Taste Peanut Caramel Crisp

Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Peanut Caramel Crisp - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“This delicious new bar from the Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste range combines thick Cadbury Dairy Milk with a peanut filling, containing generous peanut pieces and crunchy crispies, all topped off with gooey caramel and peanut halves. Perfect for sharing with family and friends!

The Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste range is also available in the following flavours:
Oreo Crunch (300g)
Toffee Whole Nut (43g and 300g)
Triple Choc Sensation (300g)

http://www.facebook.com/CadburyUK/
https://twitter.com/cadburyuk?lang=en
http://www.cadbury.co.uk

Our Opinion – Well… for someone who is actively trying to steer myself and my kids away from sugar, this massive bar of Peanut Caramel Crisp Dairy Milk, aptly named, ‘Big Taste’ came a huge surprise to us! And, it was just delicious! It reminds me of a cross between a light version of snickers and a peanut brittle, although I don’t like the latter. This massive Dairy Milk bar is light, crispy, peanut-rich and delicious. It can feed a whole family quite easily, however, I reckon I had half just to myself… back to the no-sugar bandwagon I go…

4/5

MILLIONS Chocolate Covered Strawberry

Millions chocolate covered strawberry - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Millions – the tiny tasty chewy sweets have been delighting kids and adults alike since 1992. This year adding to the 9 fabulous flavours we have Amazing Milk Chocolate covered Strawberry Millions and Sour Strawberry millions…very moreish.

http://www.facebook.com/millionssweets
https://www.twitter.com/millionssweets
http://www.millionssweets.co.uk

Our Opinion – More sugar… The boys are huge fans of strawberries so I knew they’d love a strawberry flavoured sugary snack with chocolate coating. Although, a nice tasting snack, I wouldn’t necessarily offer my kids something so high in sugar. Perhaps, if it was a real strawberry covered in chocolate… yum…

3/5

MILLIONS Sour Strawberry

Millions Sour Strawberry - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Millions – the tiny tasty chewy sweets have been delighting kids and adults alike since 1992. This year adding to the 9 fabulous flavours we have Amazing Milk Chocolate covered Strawberry Millions and Sour Strawberry millions…very moreish.

http://www.facebook.com/millionssweets
https://www.twitter.com/millionssweets
http://www.millionssweets.co.uk

Our Opinion – Wow, these really do zing and even though both myself and my little one can eat lemons whole, even these Sour Strawberry Millions were too sour for us. We couldn’t finish the pack.

1.5/5

CEREAL LOVERS CrunchTime Nuggets

Cereal Lovers crunchtime nuggets - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Cereal Lovers CrunchTime Nuggets are a deliciously crunchy new snacking concept to be the healthy way to energise and sustain your day. Nothing Nasty in this snacking granola, all natural ingredients. There are 3 types in the CrunchTime range; Forest, Sunshine and Chocolate, packed in resealable pouches.

*One of three flavours was included in the Degustabox.

http://facebook.com/allcereallovers
https://twitter.com/cereal_lovers
https://www.instagram.com/cereal_lovers/
http://www.cereallovers.co.uk

Our Opinion – My eldest is a cereal fiend and is always requesting to eat some form of cereal when he’s hungry. He is a huge fan of granola as well, as long as there are additional sweeteners added on top, so we took this pack to the park and, no doubt, both kids loved snacking on these CrunchTime Nuggets. So the concept worked. We may consider buying this again…

4/5

HIPPEAS In Herbs We Trust

Hippeas in herbs we trust - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Hippeas is the all new range of organic chickpea puffs which is set to shake-up the global snacking market with a bold brand story and purpose, clear health credentials and exciting flavour profiles.

Light, crunchy and airy, but packing a serious punch of protein and fibre, HIPPEAS is the vegan friendly, on-the-go snack that plans to spread #PeasAndLove across the world.

Available from Waitrose, Boots, Holland & Barrett, Planet Organic, Whole Foods, WH Smith, Superdrug, Ocado and online from www.hippeas.com

Peas & Love

http://www.facebook.com/HippeasSnacks/
https://twitter.com/hippeas_snacks
http://www.instagram.com/hippeas_snacks/
http://www.hippeas.com

Our Opinion – These were ok, the boys wouldn’t eat them. I like the idea of organic chickpea puffs because it’s healthy and full of protein. However, I would rather cook real chickpeas and dress them up in different sauces and encourage the kids to eat those instead. It’s convenient having the chickpea puffs in an on-to-go bag though.

3/5

CANDY KITTENS Sweets

Candy Kittens sweets - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Hello! We’re Candy Kittens and we believe that life’s too short for boring sweets. Championing British style and taste, we use the best possible ingredients to produce the finest quality gourmet sweets. Not only do our sweets taste great, but they are also gluten free! We push ourselves to be as inventive as possible and we’re proud of our innovative, premium product. Our distinctive and unique approach flies the flag for British style and taste with a universal appeal!

*One of four flavours was included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/CandyKittensUK/?fref=ts
https://twitter.com/candykittens
http://www.instagram.com/candykittens/
http://www.candykittens.co.uk/

Our Opinion – I do love my tangy sweets, so, I knew I’d like these and my 5-year-old is following suit. These Candy Kittens have a real blueberry infusion with a tanginess that can still be savoured without burning the tongue. Perhaps, again, too high in sugar to have in the pantry, but a great treat to enjoy occasionally.

4/5

HOMEPRIDE Strong White Bread Flour

Homepride strong white bread flour - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Homepride have been making great quality flour for over 50 years. The newest edition to our family is our unbleached, strong white bread flour – made from 100% British wheat to help you bake the finest loaf. Visit www.homeprideflour.co.uk to find great recipes from the likes of Richard Burr and Paul Jagger from the Great British Bake Off and Russell Bateman from Great British Menu.

http://www.facebook.com/homeprideflour
https://twitter.com/HomeprideFlour
http://www.instagram.com/homeprideflour/
http://www.homeprideflour.co.uk

Our Opinion – I love Homepride – I have their plain flour and self-raising flour counterparts too. I did not get the chance to make any bread, but I did make a pie with this flour and the result was a lovely fluffy version of a blackberry pie! Recipe to follow shortly.

4/5

RAW BEAN Bean Bags Striking El Salvador

Raw Bean bags proper coffee - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Innovative New Pyramid Coffee Bags Set to Revolutionise the Filter Coffee Market Bean Bags; the first pyramid coffee bag on the market. A one-cup, quality (100% Arabica) filter coffee offering, Bean Bags delivers a weekend coffee experience, every day. No Mess, No Fuss, Just Cracking Coffee.

*This product was included in the non-alcohol version of the Degustabox only.

http://www.facebook.com/rawbeancoffee
https://twitter.com/rawbeancoffee
http://www.instagram.com/rawbeanltd/
http://www.Rawbean.co.uk

Our Opinion – Although I really like the concept, I’m not sure I would follow the bag route. I have a coffee machine at home and quite like having my coffee brewed properly. If I don’t have machine coffee then I’ll go for an instant. With the coffee bag kind, I’m worried that I’m wasting a lot of coffee in one bag and I don’t really have time to wait 10 minutes to infuse all the coffee inside. So, a great idea, but for not a hit for me personally.

3/5

DELI KITCHEN Skinni Wrap

Skinni wraps - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Deli Kitchen is reinventing mealtimes with a range that doesn’t compromise on quality and is the ultimate go-to for those wanting to make easy, quick and healthy meals. The Skinni Wrap is low in calorific content and comes in a unique and easy to fold shape.

http://instagram.com/mydelikitchen
http://www.mydelikitchen.com

Our Opinion – These wraps are tasty, but I don’t see the need for the unique folding shape. The round tortilla style works just as well, but I understand that these would make great starter tools for kids learning to wrap and make their own food.

3.5/5

PORTLEBAY POPCORN Wasabi & Ginger Kracklecorn / Sweet Thai Sriracha Kracklecorn

Portlebay popcorn - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“Here at Portlebay, we’re hell-bent on spreading the pure joy that comes from great tasting, figure friendly, happiness inducing popcorn!

Portlebay Popcorn is made using 100% natural ingredients, unrefined raw cane sugar, a splash of rapeseed oil and the finest butterfly corn from the Pyrenees. Not only that, it’s entirely gluten free, low in fat and half the range is suitable for vegans.

Your happy place may be at the beach, walking in the woods, chatting in your Granny’s garden or down the pub with pals. Let Portlebay be your own private get away, to be enjoyed wherever and whenever, conveniently stored in the foil fresh bag.

*One of two flavours was included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/Portlebay/
https://twitter.com/Portlebay
http://www.instagram.com/portlebaypopcorn/
http://www.portlebaypopcorn.com

Our Opinion – I love sweet chilli and these are close, but not quite the same cigar. I think if the popcorn was either sweet or chilli it would really work, but the infusion was not compatible in terms of taste. Perhaps a distinctive style of chilli might have worked? My husband loved it however and thought it was delicious, so I bumped the rating up to 3.5.

3.5/5

MOMA FOODS Gluten Free Raspberry & Coconut Bircher Muesli

Moma Foods Bircher Muesli - May 2017's Picnic Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

“At MOMA, we think oats are the bee’s knees!

Say hello to our gluten free Raspberry & Coconut Bircher Muesli – our speedy answer to overnight oats. Simply add yoghurt (or a dairy-free alternative), a splash of apple juice & voila – overnight oats in 5 mins! Enjoy!

http://www.facebook.com/momafoods/
https://twitter.com/Moma/
http://www.instagram.com/momafoods/?hl=en
http://www.momafoods.co.uk

Our Opinion – We do like these oats in the house! I’m so glad we don’t have to soak oats overnight because I really don’t have time to remember in the evening to prepare for breakfast the next day. Add some milk for the boys or coconut milk yoghurt for me and this is the perfect breakfast for those who are trying to be healthy in the mornings.

4.5/5

What did I like most about May’s Picnic themed Degustabox?

Guiltily, the Cadbury’s Big Dairy Milk Peanut Crisp was simply delicious. The boys and I absolutely loved the taste and, even though, not the healthiest item on the menu, it is definitely a great treat for the well-deserved!

Rating:


3.5 out of 5 – Overall, not the best Degustabox I’ve had the pleasure of opening, but I am still feeling positive. Some of these items are great to take out on a picnic, I would just like to see less sugar in a box.


Subscribe here to be updated with new posts. Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want and need!

If you’d like to share your wealth of experience and knowledge with our community, then you can apply to become a Motherhood Diaries’ Contributor here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy.

Leyla Preston (465 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 5, and Aidan, 4. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


Did you enjoy your MD experience? Please share the love :-)