July Summer 2017 Degustabox Review

July 2017 Summer Degustabox - motherhooddiaries

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.


You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (6 years old)

Aidan (5 years old)

Review:

What’s in July 2017’s Summer themed Degustabox?

July 2017 - Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

Check out our unboxing video below:

Products

ROWNTREE’S Randoms 30% Less Sugar

Rowntree's Randoms 30% Less Sugar - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“30% Less, 100% Fruity Flavour!
The sweets you know and love but now with 30% less sugar.
Remains free from artificial flavours, colours and sweeteners so you can chew with confidence!
Give 30% less sugar Fruit Pastilles a try, available in a 110g sharing bag and 38g bag.
To find out more, visit our website below.

*The 110g sharing bag was included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/rowntrees
https://twitter.com/rowntrees
http://www.rowntrees.co.uk

Our Opinion – Super tasty, of course, because they’re Rowntree’s Randoms. These are my favourite kind of sweets because they’re so soft and chewy. But, even though they contain 30% less sugar, they are still just like little sugar balls. We try to keep these kinds of sweets out of the house, so little hands cannot get to them – or mine!

3.5/5

BLOSSOM HILL Spritz – Raspberry & Blackcurrant

Blossom Hill Spritz - Raspberry & Blackcurrant - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“Try Blossom Hill Spritz for a fresh and fruity twist on wine! Lightly bubbly with natural fruit flavours, Blossom Hill Spritz is the ultimate refreshment. Best served chilled – try it over ice with your choice of mixed fruit for a longer drink!

*This product was included in the alcohol version of the Degustabox only. One of two flavours of Blossom Hill Spritz was included in each Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/blossomhill
http://www.instagram.com/blossomhill_uk
http://www.blossomhill.com

Our Opinion – Hubby enjoyed this light bubbly for me and his only comment was that it was very sweet, perhaps too sweet for a beer drinker. I can imagine the Elderflower & Lemon alternative flavour would have been more suitable for him…

– 2.5/5

CRAFTED Mango & Passionfruit

Crafted Mango & Passionfruit - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“Creating delicious fruit juice drinks is what Crafted do. We love discovering new and exciting combinations of fruit to create our distinctive blends. We carefully choose the highest quality ingredients, blending fruit with water. But we never, ever, add sugar or sweeteners. The fruits we use are sweet enough. On top of it, our drinks provide you with 1 of your 5 a day. For us it’s all about finding the perfect balance of flavours, allowing each fruit to shine through. The result? A drink that will surprise and delight your taste buds. That’s our craft. Available in 4 different flavour blends. *One flavour of Crafted was included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/CraftedDrinks
https://www.twitter.com/CraftedDrinks
http://www.instagram.com/CraftedDrinks
http://www.crackerdrinks.com

Our Opinion – We don’t really buy juice in our house because we prefer to drink water and eat actual fruits. But, Crafted’s fruit juice in Mango & Passionfruit flavour did delight our taste buds! Very sweet in flavour and quite thick in texture, this is a great quench-thirsting drink at a hearty BBQ in the summer.

– 4/5

RYVITA Thins Three Cheese Flatbreads

Ryvita Thins Three Cheese Flatbreads - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“The new Ryvita Thins Three Cheese have been designed to be your perfect snack this Summer. Topped with Cheddar, Regato and Emmental Cheese, this exciting and moreish variant will tempt your taste buds without needing to dip them into a salsa. Just simple and delicious!

http://www.facebook.com/ryvita/
https://twitter.com/Ryvita
http://www.instagram.com/ryvitauk
http://www.ryvita.co.uk

Our Opinion – These were delicious – too delicious, in fact, that Ryvita didn’t make a pack big enough for myself and the boys, who also ravaged the thins in minutes. Just as perfect on their own or, personally for me, they are even more delectable with some feta cheese and apple chutney. Top with a tomato and you have my number 1 favourite snack in the world right now. Buying these Ryvita packets in abundance!

5/5

WEETABIX Additions – Coconut & Raisin

Weetabix additions - Coconut & Raisin - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“New Weetabix Additions – the Nation’s favourite cereal now with delicious fruit baked into every bite.
Delight your senses with a nutritious breakfast that’s packed with delicious coconut and raisins ensuring temptingly tasty goodness in every bite!

http://www.facebook.com/Weetabix.UK
https://twitter.com/weetabix
http://www.instagram.com/weetabixofficial/?hl=en
http://www.weetabix.co.uk

Our Opinion – Sadly, I never got to try this new style of Weetabix, but it looked as if the boys loved them. They are huge Weetabix fans already, so to have a new style of Weetabix that is sweeter without adding honey on top is a big win for the boys!

4.5/5

THOR Dry Apple Spritz

Thor Dry Apple Spritz - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

 “THØR Dry Apple Spritz is a range of premium sparkling apple soft drinks. Refreshingly dry with a crisp and natural taste they are blended from quality natural ingredients using less sugar. There are three flavours Apple, Apple & Ginger and Apple & Mint all under 70 calories per bottle. Serve chilled or over ice.

*This product was included in the non-alcohol version of the Degustabox only. Two of three flavours were included in each box.

http://www.facebook.com/thordrinks
https://twitter.com/thordrinks
http://www.instagram.com/thordrinks/
http://www.thordrinks.com/

Our Opinion – These Apple Spritz are predominantly apple flavoured but with a hint of Mint which was delicious and Ginger, which was ok. I found these to be highly carbonated and very refreshing after a heavy meal and enjoyed the mint much more than the ginger version. At under 70 calories per bottle though, they make a refreshing and healthy alternative to coca cola or other sugar infused carbonated drinks.

4/5

FRYLIGHT Cooking Spray with Avocado Oil

Frylight cooking spray with avocado oil - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“Discover true versatility with Frylight Avocado Oil cooking spray. Shallow fry, grill, roast and bake with only a few sprays – saving hundreds of calories every time. More resistant to burning than other oils, Avocado is perfect for wok cooking… and it also makes perfect Frylight chips!

http://www.facebook.com/frylight1cal
http://www.instagram.com/frylighthq/
http://www.frylight.co.uk

Our Opinion – We already own the Coconut Oil Spray version, which I use a lot when baking. It has almost finished, so I was glad to see an Avocado Oil alternative in this month’s Degustabox, which I’ve been told is a lot healthier than coconut oil and is ideal to use during cooking. I tried it on chips, pasta, a fried egg sandwich and many other delights and the boys didn’t notice the difference, but I definitely tasted a hint of avocado in my meals! It doesn’t bother me though because avocado is my favourite fruit, so I’m happy to carry on using this spray on pretty much anything.

4/5

MAILLE Dijon Original Mustard

Maille Dijon Mustard - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“270 years of know-how, expert craftsmanship and carefully selected ingredients contribute to the exceptional quality and character that sets Maille Mustard apart. With countless delicious recipes, Maille inspires creative food explorers to enhance the flavour of their meal with the gourmet touch of Maille. Particularly delicious with a perfectly cooked steak.

http://www.facebook.com/Maille
http://www.instagram.com/maille/
http://www.maille.com/en_GB/

Our Opinion – I have two jars of this mustard already – one opened and half-full and the other in the pantry waiting to be opened. I use this beautiful delicious mustard in cheese sauces, meals, salad sauces and anything that needs a kick in its sauce. It is so versatile and very little goes a long way (have you tried even a smidgen of it by itself? It will burn the lining in your throat and melt away your nose hairs!) But, like Marmite, it is best enjoyed in small doses!

– 5/5

MERCHANT GOURMET – Simply Cooked Red & White Quinoa

Merchant Gourmet Simply Cooked Quinoa - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“Merchant Gourmet’s Red & White Quinoa is ready to use and has been simply cooked with a dash of water and a drizzle of olive oil. Its wonderfully nutty flavour works beautifully as a base to salads or as a nutritious rice/couscous alternative.

http://www.facebook.com/MerchantGourmet
https://twitter.com/merchantgourmet
http://www.instagram.com/merchantgourmet
http://www.merchant-gourmet.com

Our Opinion – We’re not huge quinoa people, but it does make a nice change to have a quinoa based dish instead of pasta or rice. I added a very simple tomato and onion sauce and built up the portion sizes with cous cous from the pantry so that a family of four could feed. The quinoa added a nice earthy flavour to the very simple dish and the boys had no complaints.

4/5

OLOVES Healthy Olive Snacks – Chili & Oregano

Oloves Chili & Oregano Snacks - July 2017 Summer Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

“OLOVES bring you the tastiest olives, freshly packed and in a range of delicious flavours. Bursting with natural goodness, they’re high in loveliness and really low in calories. No stones. No fuss. Just the best snack going!

http://www.facebook.com/OlovesOfficial
https://twitter.com/OLOVES_
http://www.instagram.com/oloves_olives/
http://www.oloves.com

Our Opinion – I love olives but I rarely buy them from the shops because I don’t end up eating the whole jar and they get wasted (I’m the only one in the family who eats olives). So, I loved these snack bite versions and the chilli added a real kick to them. The boys wouldn’t have been able to try these because of the spiciness and I barely got through them, but as they say on the tin (or packet) – No stones. No fuss.

4/5

What did I like most about July’s Summer themed Degustabox?

The Ryvita Thins were a clear favourite, but I am very loyal to my Dijon mustard, so they both take first place.

Rating:


4.5 out of 5 – Great box this month, it felt like a real summer-infused box. More Ryvita, please! My chutney is getting lonely…

This product was provided in exchange for an honest, unbiased and unpaid review - motherhooddiaries

Never miss a new post!

Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want to read!
Follow Motherhood Diaries on Facebook (Facebook Recipes Page), Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and LinkedIn
If you’d like to share your pregnancy or parenting story, then please do share your story here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy!
Leyla Preston (470 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 5, and Aidan, 4. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!

You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


Did you enjoy your MD experience? Please share the love :-)