Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox - motherhooddiaries.com
Share the love 🙂 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewAnother great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.


You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (6 years old)

Aidan (4 years old)

Review:

What’s in ‘s Degustabox?

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Products

Hoots Snacks

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

We have flown by to bring you an exciting range of Hootingly good multigrain snacks, a delicious alternative to crisps. Hoots snacks are baked not fried, a great source of fibre and no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives are used. All flavours are suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans too! 

Available in five yummy flavours; Salt & Pepper, Salt & Vinegar, Cheese & Onion, Pickled Onion and Smoked Bacon – a healthier alternative to crisps. Available in 35g packs, perfect for snacking on the go, to break the lunchbox boredom or to enjoy at home with your favourite weekly tipple! Also, available in 120g packs to make it easier to share with friends…. (Easier said than done).”

https://www.facebook.com/hootsnacks/
http://www.hootsnacks.co.uk/

Our Opinion – These ‘Hoots’ had a strange ‘cracker-like’ texture to them, but I really liked the salt and black pepper, which tasted authentic. The boys were not fans as the black pepper was a little too strong for them. Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review3.5/5

Nutri-Brex Gluten Free Coconut & Crispy Rice

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Each bite of Nutri-Brex Gluten Free Coconut & Crispy Rice is packed with the tasty ancient grain Sorghum. Naturally gluten free, fortified with vitamins and high in fibre. A tasty hint of coconut and cinnamon makes this a delicious bowl of breakfast to really get you going in the morning.”

http://www.facebook.com/nutribrex

http://www.nutribrex.co.uk

Our Opinion – These are great! The boys love Weetabix, so it was nice to offer them something similar, but with a bit of a coconut and cinnamon twist to it. Nutri-brex is high in fibre and offers just enough sweetness, so that you don’t need to add any extra sugar. Great breakfast solution for those who can’t have gluten! Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review5/5

Gallo Expresso 4 Cheese Risotto Pouch

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Need a Risotto quickly? You’re just two minutes away from a creamy Italian classic. An authentic and genuine Italian Four Cheese Risotto, with the characteristic creamy, delicious and ‘al dente’ texture of risotto and a tangy cheese flavour – ready in just 2 minutes in a pan. And if you don’t feel like washing up a pan, Risotto Expresso can also be prepared in 3 minutes in the microwave. Perfect!
* You will receive one of two kinds of Gallo Risotto in your Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/RisoGalloUk/
http://www.risogallo.co.uk

Our Opinion – This risotto was very cheesy! Not a fan myself, however, my husband said it was one of the best risottos he had ever tasted. Unfortunately, the ‘tanginess’ of the cheese was not a hit with the boys, so at least hubby got to enjoy something from the Degustabox for once. It’s great that it only takes 3 minutes in the microwave too, so it’s a perfect on-the-go lunch addition when you’re at the office or away from home. 4/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Riso Gallo Risotto Box 3 Cheese & Vegetables

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Riso Gallo 3 Cheese & Vegetable Risotto Box is a practical and innovative way to enjoy an authentic, creamy “al dente” Italian Risotto in just 1 min 30 secs. It is quick and easy to prepare, in the microwave, without adding water. No artificial colourings, no hydrogenated fat, no MSGs.
* You will receive one of two kinds of Gallo Risotto in your Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/RisoGalloUk/
http://www.risogallo.co.uk

Our Opinion –
I really liked this risotto, much more so than the other risotto in this month’s box. The kids also go to enjoy a nice Italian risotto meal and, as it was so small, I paired it with some cheesey pasta as well. It only takes 1 minute 30 seconds to cook, so definitely another ‘on-the-go’ lunch snack for my husband. 4.5/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Newton’s Appl Fizzics

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“Newton’s appl fizzics is a curiously refreshing blend of apple juice and sparkling water. All natural, with no added sugar or sweeteners – and about 40% less sugar than apple juice on its own. An ideal alternative to sugary soft drinks or (for adults) beer, cider or wine. Chill and enjoy!
Newton’s appl fizzics comes in two bottle sizes – 330ml single serve and an elegant and table-friendly 750ml bottle which looks at home alongside wine and bottled water. The larger bottle also now comes in a lovely new flavour – apple + raspberry. 

https://en-gb.facebook.com/Newtonsapplfizzics/
http://www.newtonsapplfizzics.com

Our Opinion – This was delicious! I love sparkling apple drinks and Newton’s appl fizzics felt so refreshingly authentic and genuine. I would love to get more of these kinds of drinks because they have such a natural taste. 5/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

A2 Milk (TM)

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“a2 Milk™ is different, it is easy to digest because unlike regular milk it is naturally free from the A1 protein which can trigger symptoms often associated with lactose intolerance*.
a2 Milk™ is different because our cows are different. They are specially selected because they naturally produce milk with only the A2 protein.
“after having normal milk I would get really bloated … since using a2 I no longer feel bloated and the great thing is its delicious cows’ milk.” Gemma Williams.

*a2 Milk(TM) is not suitable for cows’ milk protein allergy. If you have been medically diagnosed with any milk intolerance, seek advice from your doctor before use.

https://www.facebook.com/a2MilkUK/
http://www.a2milk.co.uk

Our Opinion – I conducted a milk test the other day with my two boys and they blindly tasted semi-skimmed cow’s milk, rice milk, lactose-free milk and unsweetened soya milk. Rice milk fared the best, which was great, as I know my little one suffers from a bit of a tummy upset. But, I had never thought to try a2 milk, which is naturally and specially made by cows who don’t produce the A1 protein (the main cause of feeling bloated and uncomfortable.) However, over the years, I have started to de-condition myself into thinking that cow’s milk is the best for our children in terms of calcium intake. It doesn’t seem right to me anymore that we are drinking another animal’s breast milk. So, as great as A2 milk tasted and  as suitable as it was for my little one, I am going to try something more natural this time. Maybe oat milk…? 4/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Eisberg Sauvignon Blanc Alcohol-Free Wine

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Whether you’re the designated driver, going dry this January or simply looking to take a few days off alcohol as part of a healthier lifestyle choice, Eisberg Alcohol-Free Wine is the perfect alternative for you!

Made in the same way as all wines, it is only after our experts have decided the wine is just right, that the clever bit happens! Using one of the world’s most advanced techniques, the alcohol is removed at the very end of the process, to ensure that as much of the original character and flavours of the wine are kept intact. 

This leaves you with an alcohol-free wine perfect for celebrating with friends, or just as a midweek treat.

Facebook, twitter and URL:

www.facebook.com/eisbergwine
@eisbergwine
www.eisberg.co.uk

http://facebook.com/EisbergWine
http://www.eisberg.co.uk

Our Opinion – I must ask… why? Why would you get alcohol-free white wine? I just don’t get it. I suppose I only drink white wine to feel the effects of alcohol because I’m not really into the taste of wine otherwise. The only way I thought of using this non-alcoholic bottle of wine was in food, but to drink it? No, thank you! Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review 2.5/5

Maggi

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“Totally tasty MAGGI noodles in only 3 minutes! Try our delicious chicken flavour today. Also, available in beef and curry.

http://Maggi.co.uk

Our Opinion
– I am a big fan of Maggi and noodles in general, so I had high hopes for these instant ‘3-minute noodles’. I was not wrong, they did taste delicious! I tasted a lot of flavour, but I would have added less water than the instructions suggested. Great for an on-the-go quick meal. 4/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Bahlsen Lebkuchen Mischung

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“A colourful assortment of gingerbread pieces, decorated with glazing and our delicious chocolate. Perfect for sharing at festive gatherings with friends and family.
*This product was not included in all versions of the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/BahlsenBiscuits
http://www.bahlsen.co.uk

Our Opinion – As my husband is Swiss, I  reminisced about cosy Christmas get-togethers in the heart of winter, at a Switzerland chalet, nursing some hot cocoa and tucking into these glazed gingerbread pieces. Not being a fan of the overall flavour, I still managed to stomach quite a few and the boys helped quite a bit. This packet did not last long… 3.5/5Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Bahlsen Akora

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“Bahlsen Akora are traditional German heart-shaped lebkuchen. They are filled with a deliciously spiced jam filling which fuses with the gingerbread base, enrobed in our delicious signature chocolate. From the moment that you open the bag you release the very essence of Christmas.

*You will receive one of two flavours in your Degustabox if you received this product. The product was not included in all versions of the Degustabox (you will have received this OR the Bristow’s Oh Fudge! OR the Bahlsen Lebkuchen Mischung).

http://www.facebook.com/BahlsenBiscuits
http://www.bahlsen.co.uk

Our Opinion – Now, these are more like it! These spiced jam gingerbread pieces were delightful and very moreish. I much preferred these Christmas versions to the Lebkuchen Mischung and would have happily finished these off myself… if there weren’t visitors around…5/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

What a Melon Watermelon Water

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“So tasty, so cool, so freshhh. Watermelon is not just another pretty fruit, and it certainly ain’t no coconut.

But watermelon water does hydrate like coconut water. Except watermelon water has the anti-oxidant lycopene and the muscle-loving amino acid citrulline so it’s even better for letting you get your sweat on.

We’re not done yet! What A Melon’s watermelon water is all natural, baby, nothing is from concentrate in this house. We add nothing but a squeeze of lemon, but we leave the bits and pips out to keep it summertime smooth.

@whatamelonwater
#stayfreshhh

*This product was not included in all versions of the Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/whatamelonwater
https://twitter.com/whatamelonwater?lang=en
https://www.instagram.com/whatamelonwater/
http://www.whatamelonwater.com/

Our Opinion – Very refreshing, tasty and light. The boys went crazy for this watermelon water and so did I. I can imagine that this watermelon water would be perfect post-workout, so I may have to stock up now that I plan to work out 4/5 times a week! 5/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

BITE+ Multi Grain Flakes

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“A new concept in snacking, Bite+ comprises multigrain (rice and whole wheat) cereal flakes seasoned with savoury ‘flavour favourites’, providing crunchy breakfast-worthy nutrition to enjoy anywhere and anytime.

Perfect in the lunchbox, at the desk, or on-the-go, these tasty and nutritious snacks are high in fibre (to feel fuller for longer) and low in fat (less than 3%) and saturated fats, without compromising on flavour. 

As a non-fried alternative to crisps, they are also free from artificial colours and preservatives and each pack contains two portions meaning they are ideal for sharing or, if preferred, to cover more than one snacking occasion!

Bite+ Sour Cream & Onion – a wonderful combination of sautéed onions and refreshingly sour cream. 

Bite+ Sea Salt & Pepper – a classic seasoning to enhance the crispy savouriness of the multigrain flake. 

Bite+ Falafel – the true taste of falafel with hints of parsley, garlic, cumin, coriander and cayenne.

Bite+ Sweet Chilli – A perfect blend of sweetness & heat, with savoury undertones of tomato and garlic 

All flavours are available in a 70g share bag, with an RRP of £1.69.

*You will receive two of four flavours in your Degustabox.”

Our Opinion – These multigrain snack bites are apparently suitable for breakfast, but I’m not sure that I’d be able to stomach quite a ‘sour cream’ flavour first thing in the morning. They are, however, quite tasty and great as an on-the-go snack. They’re a teensy bit too strong for the boys, though, so the adults enjoyed this pack. 3.5/5 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Crediton Confectionary – Oh Fudge

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

“Bristows “Oh Fudge!” branded gift boxes, the perfect complement to any occasion, especially the “Oh Fudge!” I nearly forgot… occasions.

Sea Salt & Caramel Fudge
What? It’s got nothing to do with fish? ​
​Well, not exactly. We’ve got more than our fair share of sea down here in Devon, but you’ve got to be careful mixing marine stuff with sweets (our kipper gobstoppers didn’t go down too well, literally).
Scrumptious sea salt, however is a different kettle of fish and we’ve discovered it blends swimmingly with creamy caramel in this delectable fudge.

Apple & Cinnamon Fudge
Not an Arrow in sight? ​
​Commiserations, amateur archers. William Tell may have used apples perched on people’s heads as target practice, but at Bristows we make sweets not war.
We think it’s far more productive (and less death-defying) to combine juicy apples with scrumptious cinnamon. The result is this tantalising fudge that’ll leave you quivering with delight.

Chilli & Chocolate Fudge
​It’s got naff-all to do with Penguins?
​Apologies, ornithologists. We love our little feather flippered friends, but our quest for fudge flavour combinations didn’t take us anywhere near Antarctica.
Quite the opposite: we got hot under the colour testing all manner of fiery chillies until we found one with a zing that perfectly complimented our rich, smooth chocolate in this phenomenal fudge.

*You will receive one of three flavours in your Degustabox if you received this product. The product was not included in all versions of the Degustabox (you will have received this OR the Bahlsen Akora).

https://www.facebook.com/creditonconfectioneryltd/
http://www.creditonconfectionery.co.uk/

Our Opinion – We had the Apple & Cinnamon Fudge and they were SO sweet! Too sweet for me, although my husband’s mother absolutely adored them. I couldn’t eat more than three and the boys ate one and felt that was their fill. I’m not sure what these do for little teeth, but they’re great to give out as presents because you get quite a few individually wrapped fudge in one box. And, people with a very sweet tooth will love these because the overall taste isn’t that bad. But, for me? Sorry, no thank you 3.5/5Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

What did I like most about December’s Degustabox?

What a Melon was ridiculously good. I’m thinking about this as my go-to recovery drink after a workout.

Rating:

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

4 out of 5 – It felt like a very Christmassy box this time and there were some great products in there. But, the alcohol-free white wine? I just don’t get it, sorry.

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Subscribe here to be updated with new posts. Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want and need!
If you’d like to share your wealth of experience and knowledge with our community, then you can _4699c78b_. Don’t forget to read our _8eb700a5_.
Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review Leyla Preston (408 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 5, and Aidan, 4. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked! You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/

Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Share the love 🙂 Christmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product ReviewChristmas December 2016 Degustabox Product Review

Did you enjoy your MD experience? Please share the love :-)