August 2017 Degustabox Review

August 2017 Degustabox Review - motherhooddiaries

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.


You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook
Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (6 years old)

Aidan (5 years old)

Review:

What’s in August 2017’s Degustabox?

August 2017 Degustabox Review - All the items

August 2017 Degustabox Review - what's in the August box?

Check out Motherhood Diaries’ unboxing video below:

Products

Refreshers Softies

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Refreshers softies

“Whether you’re eight or eighty, Refreshers Softies are sure to put a smile on your face. As one of the nation’s favourite sweets, Refreshers Softies can be enjoyed by all ages and will bring about a sense of sharing and fun with a new, modern twist.

Be prepared to be transported back to more innocent times; reminding you of long mischief-filled summers and resurrecting memories of special moments in your youth.

Refreshers Softies add a new dimension to your retro confectionery favourites – soft, fruity-flavoured and chewy, they’re a twist on the much loved Refreshers sweets.

(RRP £1.00 per bag, available now in Asda and Tesco).

http://www.facebook.com/BarrattSweets/
https://twitter.com/BarrattSweets
http://www.tangerineuk.net/

Our Opinion –. 1/5 – I love Refreshers sweets, they were my favourite sweets as a child, so I thought I’d love these… but, I didn’t, I really didn’t. You can literally taste the chemicals in these softies and they do not taste like the regular sweets. Please, just stick to the normal ones, they are much better!

Orangina Limited Edition Summer Bottles

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Orangina limited edition summer bottles

“Orangina, with its unmistakable orange flavour, soft sparkle and real citrus pulp, makes the perfect summer drink. It is both delicious on it’s own with ice and a slice of orange, or as a mixer in mocktails and cocktails.

https://en-gb.facebook.com/OranginaUK/
https://twitter.com/oranginauk?lang=en
http://www.instagram.com/oranginauk/
http://www.orangina.co.uk/

Our Opinion 4.5/5 – I thought the bottles were so cute, dressed in their little summer hot pants. And, we really enjoyed the citrusy flavour too, which had a nice carbonated zing to them. With ice, they’re delicious on a hot day, so definitely worth trying it out, even though the weather is a little colder now.

Seabrook Crinkle Cut Variety Pack

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Seabrook Crinkle cut chips

“Seabrook is the original crinkle cut crisp. The variety pack brings together the three most popular Seabrook flavours – Sea Salted, Sea Salt & Vinegar and Cheese & Onion. Everyone has their favourite Seabrook flavour…. What’s yours?

http://www.facebook.com/SeabrookCrisps/
https://twitter.com/SeabrookCrisps
http://www.seabrookcrisps.com

Our Opinion 4/5 – To be honest, I thought the Sea Salted version tasted exactly like the Walkers ready salted crisps, which is a good thing, but my favourite was the Sea Salt & Vinegar crisps which did pack a real punch but only in a good way. Sadly, I didn’t get the chance to try the Cheese & Onion pack, but judging by the way my eldest was scoffing them down, I can imagine they tasted quite nice. I would have liked to see more packs of each version, though.

Tabasco Green Pepper Sauce

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Tabasco Green Pepper Sauce

“TABASCO® Green Sauce delivers great tangy flavour. It is made from mild green jalapeño peppers mixed with vinegar and salt. It’s a staple flavour for Mexican food and also can be used in anything from seafood to dressings and fruit. A few dashes give a kick to margaritas and piña-coladas.

https://www.facebook.com/TabascoUK/
https://twitter.com/Tabasco_UK?lang=en-gb
https://www.instagram.com/tabasco_uk/
http://www.tabasco.com/

Our Opinion – 5/5 – I was quite apprehensive at trying this out because I know how hot the real Tabasco sauce is. But, this green pepper sauce was delicious and so versatile, I added it to almost everything, including my pasta, rice, jacket potato and chips! Definitely will be buying this again.

Fruitypot JellySqueeze

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Fruitypot Jelly Squeeze

“The Fruitypot family of brands is a new and exciting range of fruit based products which offer a healthier snacking alternative for kids and adults alike. JellySqueeze is a truly innovative concept which introduces jelly to the next generation, available in Strawberry, Orange and Apple and Blackcurrant flavours. A fun squeezy jelly in a pouch, JellySqueeze is refreshing and re-sealable making it ideal to eat on the go or pop in a packed lunch.

Gluten and lactose free, suitable for vegans and vegetarians and schools compliant, JellySqueeze is great for kids of all ages to enjoy. JellySqueeze can be stored in the cupboard although we recommend that it’s best enjoyed straight from the fridge.

* The Apple & Blackcurrant and the Orange flavours of JellySqueeze were included in the Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.co.uk/jellysqueeze
https://www.twitter.com/fruitypotfamily
http://www.fruitypotfamily.co.uk

Our Opinion 3/5 – These Fruitypots were nice, but they wouldn’t be something I would actively offer the kids. I still find jelly to be very chemically based and I’m trying to steer away from real processed desserts like jelly and more towards compotes and actual fruit desserts. So, although, they tasted pleasant and they are packaged to fit lunchboxes well, I’d rather serve my kids’ real apples, blackcurrants and oranges in their lunchboxes.

Light Bites Popped Chips

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Light bites popped chips

Snack virtuously with Light Bites, the range of snacks all under 100 calories!

Light Bites are a range of healthy snacks for when you’re looking for something light and tasty without the remorse – they’re an easy, uncomplicated choice.

The range consists of gluten free and protein packed popped chips, freeze dried fruit chips and scrumptious bars enriched with superfoods such as goji berries, chia seeds and cacao nibs perfect for that mid-morning slump or evening snack.

Light Bites popped chips are under 100 calories, gluten free, packed with fibre and protein, veggie friendly, free from artificial colours, preservatives, flavours and low in saturated fat. Popped Chips are spud free, msg and gm free too!

Available exclusively in Superdrug stores and online.

http://www.facebook.com/LightBitesUK
http://www.instagram.com/LightBitesUK
http://www.lightbites.co.uk

Our Opinion 4.5/5 – I do like these chickpea puffs, they pack great flavour and they’re ideal for carrying around in your bag if you’re feeling peckish. Sadly the kids weren’t as keen as I was and I’d rather try and get them involved in these kinds of snacks than the Fruitypots. But, at least I got to enjoy them without interruption.

Maggi® Fusian® Fiery Sweet Chilli & Stick Hoisin Duck Noodles

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Maggi Fusian Fiery Sweet Chilli and Sticky Hoisin Duck

“Sticky Hoisin Duck Noodles: Rich sweet soy, oriental spice and hints of roasted duck with infused oil and veggies, create a noodles adventure in only four minutes.

Fiery Sweet Chilli Noodles: Spicy chilli and ginger with onion oil and veggies, create a fiery noodles adventure in only four minutes.

http://www.facebook.com/MaggiFusianUKI/
http://maggi.co.uk

Our Opinion4.5/5 – I love sweet chilli and I love hoisin duck, so it was a no-brainer that I was going to love these noodles. The fiery sweet chilli really does pack a chilli punch so beware! I especially liked the fact that there were three different sachets in the pack, which added to the flavour; veg, oil and herbs/spices. Not like the regular pot noodles that you get that includes one pack of powder. Instead you get a real textured and flavoured snack meal and they taste great with buttered toast.

Bahlsen PiCK UP! Black ‘N White

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Bahlsen PiCK UP! Black 'N White

“PiCK UP! Black ‘N White is a delicious white chocolate bar sandwiched between two crisp chocolate flavour biscuits. They are individually wrapped, locking in the freshness and perfect for on the go occasions and lunchboxes.

https://www.facebook.com/PickupUK/
https://twitter.com/BahlsenPICKUP
https://www.instagram.com/bahlsen_uk/
http://bahlsen.co.uk/our-biscuits/pick-up/

Our Opinion
4.5/5 – Only 5 in a pack, Bahlsen?? Gosh, these were dangerous and very moreish! We all unanimously loved these new Bahlsen style chocolate snacks, with a helping of white chocolate sandwiched between crispy chocolate biscuits. They were nice and large, as well as individually wrapped too, so great for on-the-go occasions – not that we travelled far before these were scoffed…

Twisted Halo Coconut Water with Ginger and Vodka

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Twisted Halo Coconut Water & Ginger Vodka

“Twisted Halo is on a mission to create the most transparent and authentic low-calorie alcoholic beverage brand, whilst never compromising on taste or quality.

The idea is simple; we blend unique, sophisticated flavour combinations with natural ingredients. We are 100% naturally flavoured and free of added sugar or sweeteners.

We are against being bland and sugary, and want to inject some fun back into the market!

Visit www.twistedhalodrinks.com to find your nearest stockist.

https://www.facebook.com/TwistedHaloUK/
https://twitter.com/twistedhalouk
https://www.instagram.com/twistedhalouk/
http://www.twistedhalodrinks.com

Our Opinion3.5/5 – Hubby helped himself to this alcoholic drink and advised me that the drink was quite bitter but ok. I think I probably would have preferred the natural taste of Coconut Water and Ginger and given it higher marks, so I’m assuming hubby thought this was just average.

Cadbury Curlywurly Squirlies

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Cadbury Curlywurly Squirlies

Bitesize chewy caramel pieces covered in Cadbury milk chocolate! A family favourite, now available in a shareable bag!

https://www.facebook.com/CadburyUK/
https://twitter.com/CadburyUK
http://www.instagram.com/cadburyuk/
http://www.cadbury.co.uk

Our Opinion 4/5 – These Cadbury curly-wurlies took me back to my childhood when they came in just one long packaged bar. Thankfully, they’re shareable in this new bag and we all got to enjoy the deliciousness of the caramel chews. Be careful though, they’ll take your teeth right off!

Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee Whole Nut

August 2017 Degustabox Review - Cadbury Big Taste

“Taste the Big Sensation wherever you are with Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee Whole Nut now available in a convenient on-the-go format!

https://www.facebook.com/CadburyUK/
https://twitter.com/CadburyUK
http://www.instagram.com/cadburyuk/
http://www.cadbury.co.uk

Our Opinion –
5/5 – It’s just like Degustabox to go and add a naughty little bar in the box that isn’t shareable. Oh my goodness, this Big Taste bar was delicious, so delicious that I was salivating for another bar as soon as I finished the first. I could have shared, but I didn’t and I’m sorry, not sorry, that I didn’t. Deliciously chewy, crunchy and nutty – my new favourite Cadbury’s bar. Right, off to the shops to buy in bulk!

What did I like most about August’s Degustabox?

I don’t want to do it because of my preaching about sugar, but it has to be the Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee, which must be made by the devil because it is just tooo good.

Rating:

– 4 out of 5 – A great box overall with the naughtiest things in the box being the tastiest (apart from the Refreshers softies, sorry!) Perhaps, sneak in another Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste bar so I can get my fix? Oh, and the Tabasco Green Pepper Sauce is now a new staple in our home, so thanks for the heads up Degustabox!

Free product review - motherhooddiaries

Never miss a new post!

Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want to read!
Follow Motherhood Diaries on Facebook (Facebook Recipes Page), Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and LinkedIn
If you’d like to share your pregnancy or parenting story, then please do share your story here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy

Leyla Preston (465 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 5, and Aidan, 4. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


Did you enjoy your MD experience? Please share the love :-)