April 2017 Degustabox Review

April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

Another great month of delicious edible goodies from Degustabox, which features the following brands this month:

Here is the link to the full background of the Degustabox and the service they offer: http://motherhooddiaries.com/degustabox-review-plus-competitiongiveaway-win-aprils-degustabox/

But, for a quick recap, Degustabox is an online retail service that offers a monthly package full of nutritional goods for a monthly fee of £12.99. But lucky customers like yourself will receive a £7.00 discount when signing up for your first Degustabox by inserting discount code BLDEG15 at the checkout.

Products range from condiments to organic food and drink, packed with lots of information on the product and its manufacturer. You can sign up to receive a monthly Degustabox here: http://bit.ly/DBhomepage.


You can stay updated via Degustabox’s social networks too:

Facebook – http://bit.ly/DBUKFacebook

Twitter – http://bit.ly/DBUKTwitter

Instagram – @Degustabox_UK #Degustabox_UK

And, that’s not all! Customers can receive a hefty 40% discount when signing up with their email address.

One other thing. Degustabox has recently introduced DB Discoveries to keep us in the loop with new, smaller brands that we may not have heard of, but are equally as delicious. We’ll keep you posted on these too, by marking a ‘*’ next to the brand’s name.

So, let’s get started!

Reviewers:

Tommy (Daddy)

Leyla (Mummy)

Aron (6 years old)

Aidan (5 years old)

Review:

What’s in April’s Degustabox?

April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

Products

Seabrook Lattice Crisps – £1.50 – £1.99

Seabrook Lattice Crisps - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“For us a premium crisp is more than just a snazzy pack. For a Seabrook crisp to make the cut, it has to be cut just right. So these Lattice crisps are sliced both ways to hold even more Sea Salt and Black Pepper flavour and give you a crunch like no other. We think they’re the most flavoursome crisps you’ll ever eat, a bold claim perhaps, but if you know anything about Seabrook, you’ll know flavour is what we’re all about. So enjoy the experience.

https://www.facebook.com/SeabrookCrisps
https://twitter.com/SeabrookCrisps
http://www.seabrookcrisps.com

Our Opinion – These crisps do hold a shed load of flavour – they’re quite salty and should be paired with some water. But, we are crisp lovers in our family, so this packet didn’t see the light of day for too long! 4/5

POLO Sugar-Free Pot – £1.49

POLO Sugar Free Pot - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

 

“The POLO®’s you’ve known and loved since 1948 are now available in a handy convenient pot for on the go.
POLO® mints are flavoured with natural mint oils to refresh your breath and the POLO® Sugar Free range is accredited by the Oral Health Foundation® as being kind to teeth.”

Our Opinion – Being able to carry around my favourite minty fresh mints in my handbag and take one out when I’m in a crowded situation and have no time to freshen up my breath gets a 5/5!

CELIA Organic Lager £2.49

CELIA Organic Lager - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“CELIA Organic Lager is available from the Free From section at Tesco and Waitrose stores nationwide, Tesco and Waitrose online, Ocado and selected Oddbins, Booths and Whole Foods stores. 

RRP £2.49.

*This product was included in the alcohol version of the Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/CeliaLager/#
https://twitter.com/CELIAlager
http://www.celialager.co.uk

Our Opinion – I have used Celia Lager in food before, so hubby was happy that he got to drink the lager instead. He loved it and found the taste to be very natural and, indeed, organic. He rated it a 4/5

Garofalo Whole Wheat Penne Pasta – £2.19

Garofalo Pasta - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“PASTA GAROFALO has a range of pasta types, from the traditional, whole wheat and organic to gluten free and a range for children. That’s 5 ranges and 42 different shapes. If you love fusilli but want organic whole wheat fusilli, we have it, and also Fusilli Lunghi, Tricolore Fusilli, and the Fusilli Bucati Corti. But if you want something completely different we have Casarecce, Gemelli, Papardelle and many more! All made with high quality ingredients creating a truly tasty Italian pasta.

Do let us know if you have enjoyed the Whole Wheat Penne Ziti Rigate in your Degustabox, we are on Facebook and Twitter.

All our pasta ranges can be bought in the following places on line: Amazon.co.uk
Ocado.com

http://www.facebook.com/PastaGarofaloUK/
https://twitter.com/pastagarofaloUK
https://www.instagram.com/garofalopastauk/
http://www.pastagarofalo.it/en

Our Opinion – At the beginning of 2017 I decided to concentrate a lot more on my family’s diet and lifestyle and buy whole wheat pasta and rice, which was a huge change in our diet. So, I was glad to find whole wheat Garofalo pasta, which I know is a great brand for pasta. I loved the quality and texture of this pasta and the boys enjoyed their cheese and tomato pasta meal as a result! … 4.5/5

GOOD HEMP Hemp Seed Hearts – £4.49

Good Hemp Seed Hearts - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“The protein in hemp seeds is also one of the nearest in profile to animal protein as it is a complete protein which contains all the essential amino acids that our bodies need but cannot product themselves so must obtain from food.

– 100% Natural. Nothing Added.
– High in Protein.
– High in Fibre.
– High in Omega 3.
– Natural source of Omega 6 GLA – 400mg per serving (the same as 2.5 capsules of Evening Primrose Oil).
– Contains all Essential Amino Acids.
– Free From Nuts, Gluten & GMO.
– Suitable for Vegetarians & Vegans.

Available now at www.goodhempfood.com & Ocado. In Sainsbury’s stores from June 2017.

http://www.facebook.com/goodhempfood/
https://twitter.com/goodhempfood
https://www.instagram.com/goodhempfood/
http://www.goodhempfood.com

Our Opinion – These hemp seeds are a great addition to cakes, cereals, as sandwich toppers and pretty much anything you can think of that needs a real protein boost, especially after a workout. I am recently enjoying these hemp seeds in smoothies! 5/5

Dorset Cereals – £4.89

Dorset Cereals - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“Life’s not a dress rehearsal. Join us on a foodie journey as we travel the world in search of new and exciting tastes and textures… in our Ultimate Adventures collection.

Our machu picchu flavour is an adventurous Inca trail-inspired blend of oats and barley with brazil nuts, golden berries and a taste of coffee.

Our American road trip flavour blends cranberries, almonds and orange zest – inspired by Route 66.

We’ve travelled the world to find the best textures and flavours, and brought them home.

*One of two flavours were included in each Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/dorsetcereals
https://twitter.com/dorsetcereals/
https://www.instagram.com/dorsetcereals/
http://www.dorsetcereals.co.uk

Our Opinion – I love these Dorset cereals! They taste so authentic and healthy. I normally find cereal to sit like cement in my stomach, but these cereals have become my personal favourite in the morning, as the boys still enjoy their weetabix and cheerios! 5/5

Doisy & Dam’s Quinoa, Smoked Tea & Vanilla Chocolate – £1.75

Doisy & Dam Quinoa, Smoked Tea & Vanilla - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“You will have received our most unique and innovative of the flavours, the Quinoa, Smoked Tea and Vanilla. Hope you liked it!

Other flavours available and well worth a try 😉

74% Dark Choc –
Goji & Orange
Maple, Toasted Rice and Pink Salt
Coconut & Lucuma
Maca, Vanilla & Cacao Nibs

39% Milk Choc –
Date & Himalayan Pink Salt
Vanilla & Cacao Nibs

30% White choc –
Lemon, Poppy Seed & Baobab

http://www.facebook.com/doisyanddam/
https://twitter.com/doisyanddam
http://www.instagram.com/doisyanddam/?hl=en
http://www.doisyanddam.com

Our Opinion – This unique chocolate bar tasted quite pleasant. I’m not sure what smoked tea is, but I could taste a hint, which I did like. I wouldn’t necessarily choose it as a flavour for my chocolate bar, however. I didn’t really taste the vanilla, but the ingredients are very natural. There isn’t anything in there that I don’t know about or that I can’t pronounce. The sugar content, however, at 46.6g per 100g is just way too high for me. I really needed an energy hit after a heavy and intensive workout, but was a bit dismayed to see that level of sugar in that chocolate. Tasty, but too high in sugar! 3.5/5

Nothing But – 2 x £1.20

Nothing But -April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“Available in six scrummy flavours (three fruity ones and three veggie ones), all of which are suitable for vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets, Nothing But healthy snacks can be enjoyed on the go, added to breakfasts, or sneaked when no-one’s looking so you don’t have to share (just kidding…maybe…)

And because our ingredients undergo a special process called freeze-drying, rather than being baked or fried, all that’s removed is the water. Lots of lovely vitamins and flavours are retained for a super healthy snack that never compromises on taste – perfect if you want something that strikes the balance between delicious and nutritious.

*Two of three flavours were included in each Degustabox.

http://www.facebook.com/NothingButSnack
https://twitter.com/Nothingbutsnack
http://www.instagram.com/nothingbutsnack/
http://www.nothingbutsnack.com/

Our Opinion – These little crisp like fruit and veggie snacks were simply delicious and the boys really enjoyed snacking on these vegan alternatives. Again, the sugar content is quite high and I would really like to see healthy snacks like these fruit and veggie snacks, but with half the sugar content at least! 3.5/5

ViPnuts – £1.25 (Hot Chilli) £1.45 (Hot Toffee)

ViP Nuts - April 2017 Degustabox Product Review - motherhooddiaries

“Introducing New York Delhi’s ‘ViPnuts’ – the gourmet peanut brand. Our unique take on one of the world’s favourite snacks.
Hot Chilli is the one for the chilli lovers out there – this is not an imposter like so many – this really does not disappoint if you yearn for that chilli kick and depth of flavour then this is the one for you. Deliciously and not dangerously hot!
Delicious Hot Toffee ViPnuts have to be tasted to be believed. Caramelised Jumbo Premium Peanuts with a tiny hint of chilli creating a wonderful hot toffee texture and taste.
Oven baked, natural, highly nut-tritious and delicious! If only every nut could be a ViPnut…

*One of two flavours were included in each Degustabox.

https://www.facebook.com/ViPnuts/
https://twitter.com/ViPnuts
https://www.instagram.com/newyorkdelhi/
http://www.newyorkdelhi.com/

Our Opinion – These are super hot, chilli nuts. Be warned! Too spicy for me sadly 2.5/5

What did I like most about April’s Degustabox?

Rating:


4 out of 5 – An overall great box. Again, a little worried about the sugar count, but I still love my Degustaboxes and I squeal like a little child when I see a new box outside my door. I would definitely recommend getting yours now! Sign up here: https://www.degustabox.com/en/register


Never miss a new post!

Don’t forget to tailor your preferences, so you just get the posts you want to read!
Follow Motherhood Diaries on Facebook (Facebook Recipes Page), Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+ and LinkedIn
If you’d like to share your pregnancy or parenting story, then please do share your story here. Don’t forget to read our Ad Policy!
Leyla Preston (465 Posts)

Leyla Preston is the owner and Editor of Motherhood Diaries global magazine for parents. Leyla is a busy mother of two even busier boys; Aron, 5, and Aidan, 4. When Leyla isn’t feeding, managing a gazillion tasks or cleaning the infinite mess at home, she is busy working on this magazine and a new cooking channel coming very soon – no rest for the wicked!You can follow Leyla on Twitter (@M_Diaries) or join the busy Motherhood Diaries Facebook group where all mums get together and share stories and solutions with one another: https://www.facebook.com//groups/motherhooddiaries/


Did you enjoy your MD experience? Please share the love :-)